HP-1: Unable to get p25 simulcast channels to scan.

Status
Not open for further replies.

potterda

I am new to radio reference, and new to digital scanning. I have an HP-1 and loved it until my area went to p25 trunked simulcast system. I have tried many different ways on the sentinel software too get it to scan these channels. Even when I am not trying to use the favorites list, that system only shows one frequency and it does not scan though them. It is Linn County Public Safety. I can listen to it on my phone, but not my scanner.

Any help would be appreciated. The system is in Linn County Iowa

JamesO

Probably "pilot error" at this point??

These scanners are very good, but complicated and they have FAR more ways of limiting monitoring and only 1 way to properly monitor your area.

Here is my suggestion.

Use the Zip code function to get the scanner initially programmed, BUT mare you update the Master Database and actually Write the updated Master Database to the scanner before you set up Zip code location. NOTE, MAKE SURE THE MASTER DATABASE UPDATE IS WRITTEN TO THE SCANNER. I think you can verify this by going into the menu and looking at the scanner info as I recall??

Then set the Range to 15-20 miles and make sure you have most of the Public Safety Service Types enabled.

This way you can start with making sure you can receive what you are trying to hear, then you can start to play with the Favorites List. Word to the wise, do not make a Favorites List from scratch until you have been using the scanner and software for at least 3 months!!!

Import the site info from the Master Database for your Favorite List, then edit from there.

troymail

Silent Key
Might be better to look at posts and post in the Iowa forum....