BC346XT: ***New Guy Alert*** Just starting out...

Status
Not open for further replies.

edwa0221

Very green, yet very interested. Picked up my first unit Uniden BC346XTC...from a neighbor. Came with the unit and a power cord. My thought was...I can figure this out. I'm an IT guy by trade. Boy was I wrong.

Where in the H does one even begin? I searched and found my county info

Frequency License Type Tone Alpha Tag Description Mode Tag
155.64000 KNGQ694 RM 97.4 PL FBRN SO Sheriff's Dept. FM Law Dispatch
155.01000 WQAX917 BM 97.4 PL ALBT LEA PD Albert Lea Police Department FM Law Dispatch
154.19000 KGX550 BM 97.4 PL FBRN FIRE County Fire Depts. FM Fire Dispatch
155.38500 KRE514 BM 173.8 PL ALBT MED CTR Albert Lea Medical Center FM Hospital
156.18000 KNCM885 RM FBRN ROADS Road Dept.

But beyond this i'm like a deer in the headlights. I've watched a couple videos that kind of explained what info to add...but again this is clearly deeper then a quick you tube video. I was hoping for something quick and easy...

Someone care to point me in the right direction? Southern MN.

edwa0221

Two directions. Which one is "right"? Depends on who you ask. Some will attempt to assist you in "programming" your scanner using the scanner only. Others, myself included, will advocate for a "software" solution (requires connecting the scanner to your computer using a specific cable, and installing software on said computer).

The software is free, and can be downloaded at:

BCD436HP < UnidenMan4 < TWiki

Someone else will have to post the identification of the necessary cable. I have a couple, but I don't know how to describe them or where to purchase them.

If you go this route (software), repost after acquiring the software and the correct cable, and you will receive plenty of assistance.

If you prefer the "radio only" solution, others will help you.
I dug through my grab bag and cant match said usb cable. I will attempt to find one and play with the software side.