P25 garbled

Status
Not open for further replies.

N1GTL

Database Admin
I sit in an office with an EJ Johnson portable radio and a BCD536HP. When we set both radios on a specific 800 MHz P25 police department simulcast system, the EFJ radio hears it quite well. The 536 gets is very choppy, dropping out, garbled at times.

Admittedly I have little experience with P25s and scanners.

What settings should I be looking at adjusting to receive better? We are well within coverage area for the system.

IAmSixNine

Feed Provider
Welcome to the world of commercial grade narrowed down receivers vs consumer grade wide band scanners.
There are many variables to adjust.
I set my scanners digital threshold Manual and 7 or 8, and NOT automatic.
Having a good tuned 700/800mhz antenna will help but will hurt as well because your monitoring a simulcast system. Location is the key to that.

ofd8001

Premium Subscriber
Pretty much what he said . . .

You are probably suffering from simulcast distortion. Commercial radios deal with that a lot better because they are intended to, where a scanner is trying to monitor a whole lot of things and something is given up to do so.

A search on simulcast distorion or LSM will yield a lot of threads on some additional things to try if the above isn't helpful.

bailly2

its multiple towers transmitting on the same frequency at the same time ...put the antenna through a hole in the side of an empty paint can near the bottom, much clearer ...or enclose the antenna with cardboard and aluminum foil in a similar shape.

werinshades

Premium Subscriber
I sit in an office with an EJ Johnson portable radio and a BCD536HP. When we set both radios on a specific 800 MHz P25 police department simulcast system, the EFJ radio hears it quite well. The 536 gets is very choppy, dropping out, garbled at times.

Admittedly I have little experience with P25s and scanners.