RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #301 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:17 AM
1080iAddict's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 118
Default

Thanks Voyager...that is good stuff.
Sponsored links
  #302 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:52 AM
poltergeisty's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: May 2004
Location: RLG, Fly heading 053, intercept 315 DVV, look for the SAM
Posts: 3,475
Default

The data Uniden used was pulled from this site? WOW !!!. :shock: I can't wait to get my paws on this new scanner. Boo!-Poltergeisty :-0
__________________
Sent from my PSX emulator.
Sandboxie | Herdprotect | NoScript for Mozilla variant browser | Untangle | Pure bliss security.
My forum My blog
  #303 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 12:58 PM
burrdt's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4
Default Re: Not getting charge comeplete?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwigg
My manual says I should see "charge complete" when the battery is charged. All I ever get is "normal charging" I left it on charge for a LONG time and it still never showed the above indication. No I haven't tried different batteries yet. Using the ones that came with the unit.
I had that with mine as well. After a full discharge of the batteries and then another charge, that issue was resolved
  #304 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 1:15 PM
loumaag's Avatar
Silent Key - Aug 2014
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 13,137
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Videokid
Quote:
Originally Posted by loumaag
both of the tower sites were about 20 miles away and the state's VHF is taller and stronger than the 800MHz system.
Lou, what kind of terrain was this on?
Rolling hills, farmland with some trees. Both the VHF and 800MHz sites are on the same high point of the region (Summit, SD) and I guess if I was above the local tree line with binoculars, I could probably see the towers.
  #305 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 2:03 PM
wr7agt's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Helena, Montana
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by buttsrob
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikito
No, trunked systems in the VHF band keep increasing every year, especially when 99% of them will be P25 and very wide area (statewide basically). There's a lot more in the works on VHF than you think.

Just like you said above, good coverage on some scanners is 400, 800 and 900. Well, it should be revised to be 138 to 174MHz, 400, 700 and 800 since that's where most of the Public Safety comms take place. In conventional AND trunked.
I didn't know that there were that many in the works. But it certainly makes sense for Statewide coverage - especially in the more sparsly-populated states. Thanks for the info.

It should be interesting when we get a bunch of these out there and there's a tropo opening. DXing trunked systems with a BCD396T.

73!

RMB
Yep, The beginning of the Montana Statewide VHF APCO-25 Trunked system has hit the air. It is a 7 site Smartzone system currently the test bed. It is located in and is used primarily by Lewis and Clark County and City of Helena. It is a BIG COUNTY. This system wioll be expanded with a statewide microwave system and is "expected" to carry 90% of all public safety activities in the State. However, the 911 commission threw an ant in the ointment when they, rightfully, suggested that Homeland security quit wasting BILLIONS sending money for various "causes" to places that are not high on the terrorist hit list. Nowhere in Montana is that the case, so the funds for this "dream" may well have come to and end, so, it may be a long while.

In Western States paticularly, VHF to MOBILES and Base Stations shines compared to 400 and 800. Mountainous terrain makes it the choice. Also, lack of people and their respective agencies make getting channels easier than say LA. But, the narrower the band, the more the channels so who knows. For long range, jack-rabbit covering performace, VHF is it, and at least some number of VHF systems will continue to spring up and if watered with yours and mine water (TAX MONEY), will continue to grow.
__________________
Tom

http://www.macpassradio.com
Mac Pass Radio, LLC
Sponsored links
  #306 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 2:19 PM
eyes00only's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Denver Colorado
Posts: 2,279
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wr7agt
In Western States paticularly, VHF to MOBILES and Base Stations shines compared to 400 and 800. Mountainous terrain makes it the choice.
I wondered why they didn't use VHF trunking MANY years ago, and I'm not a smart tech guy.

Jerry
__________________
"There is a fine line between 'hobby' and 'mental illness'."
  #307 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 4:05 PM
Butelsoftware's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 1,782
Default

BuTel is proud to announce the FIRST and FREE software application
for the new Uniden BCD396T: CLONE396 - Backup and Restore Utility for
the new BCD396T!

This freeware will generate backups of the entire contents of your
BCD396TT. Backup files can be restored or exchanged with other users!

The software includes 4 free bonus files:

- 'out of the box' preprogrammed systems clone file
- 'memory clear' clone file
- BuTel software product catalog
- ScannerMaster product catalog

To download and install this free software, visit our website
www.butelsoftware.com

Gommert
www.butelsoftware.com

ARC396 Software for Uniden BCD396T ANNOUNCEMENT LIST:
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/arc396/join
__________________
http://www.butelsoftware.com
>>> MH17 we will never forget <<<
US Sales: 1-800-SCANNER http://www.scannermaster.com/?Click=41054
  #308 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 5:02 PM
ronhl's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Live Free or Die St.
Posts: 116
Default SOFTWARE

Way to go Gommert, back it up.... before we screw it up!!
Good timing Butel 8) [/b]
  #309 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 5:15 PM
Boomeranger's Avatar
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 329
Default

Quote:
Dynamic memory was an idea I came up with back in the days of the 780.
Take a number. I had the same idea in 1998 and it wasn't a new idea then. http://tinyurl.com/8dndj

Andy
Sponsored links
  #310 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 9:43 PM
whooey's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 789
Default

My 396T Goes through Batteries like their going out of style!!! :cry:

I have gone through 3 sets today.

Energizer 2500 mAh fully charged!!!

I have done some programming with these batteries, anyone else going through full charges quickly???
__________________
Hey, is at least one scanner on right now???
  #311 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:02 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 2,325
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whooey
My 396T Goes through Batteries like their going out of style!!! :cry:

I have gone through 3 sets today.

Energizer 2500 mAh fully charged!!!

I have done some programming with these batteries, anyone else going through full charges quickly???
How old are those batteries you're using?
Are they taking a full charge?
Is the charger in good condition?
Have you tried using a set of fresh alkalines to see if they last about the same?
How much activity is in your area?

Just preliminary questions, don't take offense at the obviousness of them!
  #312 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:10 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whooey
My 396T Goes through Batteries like their going out of style!!! :cry:

I have gone through 3 sets today.

Energizer 2500 mAh fully charged!!!

I have done some programming with these batteries, anyone else going through full charges quickly???
Mine last 10-12 hours plus with about 60% volume and moderate traffic.

How did you charge the cells?

But, programming likely will take significantly more current to write the memory.

Joe M.
  #313 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 10:28 PM
whooey's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Gainesville, FL
Posts: 789
Default

The batteries probably have 20 charges on them. I'm charging them on the energizer charger that came w/ them.

I'm charging the batteries that came w/ the 396 right now, but I'm sure fiddling w/the scanner non-stop and heavy traffic will drain em.

Oh yeah pretty much no backlight use, but almost max volume.
__________________
Hey, is at least one scanner on right now???
  #314 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:05 PM
Eng74's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Kern County, CA
Posts: 1,322
Default

So how is the fire tone out? I really havn't seen anything on it, or I missed it.
  #315 (permalink)  
Old 07-04-2005, 11:44 PM
mancow's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N.E. Kansas
Posts: 4,801
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whooey
My 396T Goes through Batteries like their going out of style!!! :cry:

I have gone through 3 sets today.

Energizer 2500 mAh fully charged!!!

I have done some programming with these batteries, anyone else going through full charges quickly???
You're not alone. It's the only complaint I have so far.
The backlight eats them up at even a higher rate. I wonder if it's how we are using ours or whether something is wrong with the units we have.
I'm using fresh 2000 mAh batteries here.


mancow
Sponsored links
  #316 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:03 AM
h8tdigitalradio's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Six Feet Under
Posts: 1,063
Default

Hello,

Average usage time with 2300 mAH NiMH Batteries should be 12 hours with moderate to heavy traffic and backlight. If you charge them in the unit or a good external charger, (ie. MAHA MH-C401FS) there should be no difference in usage time. This is the average after many cycles.

73

Dave AKA The Tripzter :shock:
__________________
©MMIV-MMXIV by "The Worst of Tripzter™" All rights reserved.
  #317 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 12:28 AM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: College Station, TX
Posts: 175
Default Reverse burst

Someone was asking on some forum if this radio does reverse burst....no it doesn't.
  #318 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 9:35 AM
SOFA_KING's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: SE Florida
Posts: 873
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomeranger
Quote:
Dynamic memory was an idea I came up with back in the days of the 780.
Take a number. I had the same idea in 1998 and it wasn't a new idea then. http://tinyurl.com/8dndj

Andy
That is great. I never heard anyone mention it for scanners before. Glad to know there are some forward thinking contributors out there.

The main point I was trying to make was that we can give the manufactures ideas for new and useful features. That's all.

Here is another...P25 has it's own form of digital PL. Why not include that as an option?
  #319 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:05 AM
Boomeranger's Avatar
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Philly burbs
Posts: 329
Default

[quote="SOFA_KING"]
Quote:
Here is another...P25 has it's own form of digital PL. Why not include that as an option?
I don't own a digital trunk scanner yet, but I can safely say we're all in favor of options! It's just that the manufacturers keep drawing lines in the sand separating Late &amp; Great from State-of-the-Art.

Imho,

Andy
  #320 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:17 AM
JerryNone's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Ohio
Posts: 843
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SOFA_KING
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomeranger
Quote:
Dynamic memory was an idea I came up with back in the days of the 780.
Take a number. I had the same idea in 1998 and it wasn't a new idea then. http://tinyurl.com/8dndj

Andy
That is great. I never heard anyone mention it for scanners before. Glad to know there are some forward thinking contributors out there.

The main point I was trying to make was that we can give the manufactures ideas for new and useful features. That's all.

Here is another...P25 has it's own form of digital PL. Why not include that as an option?
P-25 PL Codes? Aren't those called Network Acess Codes?
__________________
"Santa Must Be Polish" By Bobby Vinton.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions