RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #321 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2012, 12:21 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: St. Louis County, MO
Posts: 1,696
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a1emt View Post
Never had a problem with Uniden firmware updates til this evening. While upgrading my BCD996xt, the process errored out so I tried to apply the update again by starting over from step one. However, now the radio does not seem to power up (no backlight) and will not communicate with my PC. Tested the cable with another radio and re-downloaded the firmware file to no avail. Also tried the 2+9+L/O hard reset.

Anyone run into this before?

Jim
Do as DDan said and start from step 1 a few times.
The lack of the blue backlight does sound odd though. I thought I saw a thread that indicated the backlight would still power up but in a blank blue color if stuck from a failed FW update.

Can you use another power source like the cig lighter power adapter just to rule out the power adapter?
Or the three wire adapter hooked to a 12 volt battery as that would also rule out the coaxial power jack as the cause of a problem.

Even though the radio does not communicate, try and run the updater again after starting over from step 1 even with the blank screen.

Last edited by kruser; 04-08-2012 at 12:24 AM..
Sponsored links
  #322 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2012, 8:17 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: carrollton, ga. 30117
Posts: 9
Default

r u using the front or rear input ? ( use front ) have u updated another uniden scanner souch as a bcd996Twitch would try 2 load the wrong update. go to control panel, systems,my hardware,device manager,com ports to c if ur scanner is listed
  #323 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2012, 8:05 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NW Oklahoma City
Posts: 170
Default



I updated my 396XT without any problems. But I did not check "Enable Major Version Up". Did I need to do that?
  #324 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2012, 8:48 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 204
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by papadoc View Post


I updated my 396XT without any problems. But I did not check "Enable Major Version Up". Did I need to do that?
I didn't. Mine works fine.
__________________
Relm HS200, BCD396XT, HP-1E, BCD436HP
  #325 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2012, 4:23 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,472
Default

You only need to check that box when you are doing a major version up (i.e. the first digit increments).
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
Sponsored links
  #326 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2012, 6:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: carrollton, ga. 30117
Posts: 9
Default

i believe u may have updated ur 996xt with a 396xt update witch r not the same.here is what i would do.create a folder in my docs named 996XT. go to unidens web site and download firmware updates to the folder 996XT instead of to ur desk top. after u down load BC VUP V2.0.0.7.zip and v1.06.00 un zip these files to ur 996XT folder. now try to update ur scanner by 996XT folder in stead of ur desk top. b sure that u r in ur 996XT folder via the drop down menu. hope this helps i had a simular problem with a bcd996t and it worked 4 me

nailech

do not check enable major version

Last edited by nailech; 04-11-2012 at 6:22 PM.. Reason: add info
  #327 (permalink)  
Old 04-11-2012, 11:31 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NW Oklahoma City
Posts: 170
Default

Thanks to everyone who replied to my question. I feel better knowing I didn't need to check that box.
  #328 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2012, 6:50 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 2,159
Cool Low Pass Filter for P25

I just picked up a 996XT for my mobile environment (upgrade from old BCT15.)

After programming I noticed that I had the LP filter turned off for P25.

Is this suppose to be on or off? I'm not sure if I have ever been using it, to be honest. My 396XT seems fine so I'm wondering if this is still a valid setting with the new firmware upgrade?
  #329 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2012, 6:57 PM
scanningisfun's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Andover, Kansas
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcarr View Post
I just picked up a 996XT for my mobile environment (upgrade from old BCT15.)

After programming I noticed that I had the LP filter turned off for P25.

Is this suppose to be on or off? I'm not sure if I have ever been using it, to be honest. My 396XT seems fine so I'm wondering if this is still a valid setting with the new firmware upgrade?
It is a filter that removes a high pitched tone that goes along with P25 audio on some systems. It supposedly can decrease decode performance, but I haven't had any problems.

Here is someone else's video you can hear the distinct high pitched tone on:

Connecticut State Police Uniden Bearcat bcd396t scanner - YouTube

Here is my 396XT with the LP filter turned on; this is the same system as the first video:

BCD396XT Scanning w/New Firmware - YouTube

Jacob


Jacob
Sponsored links
  #330 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2012, 6:58 PM
DDan's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Oceanside, CA
Posts: 2,775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nickcarr View Post
I just picked up a 996XT for my mobile environment (upgrade from old BCT15.)

After programming I noticed that I had the LP filter turned off for P25.

Is this suppose to be on or off? I'm not sure if I have ever been using it, to be honest. My 396XT seems fine so I'm wondering if this is still a valid setting with the new firmware upgrade?
It should be turned on only if you need it. See this link: Easier to Read BCD996XT Digital Scanner Manual
__________________
73 de W6KRU - Dan

BCD396XT BCD396T PSR-500 FRG-100 PRO-43 PRO-90 PRO-2050 FT-857 FT-90 VX-170 VX-3
RS 20-176 | Maxrad MFB8133 MYA8256 MUF8043 MLB3400
  #331 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2012, 8:15 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 2,159
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by scanningisfun View Post
It is a filter that removes a high pitched tone that goes along with P25 audio on some systems. It supposedly can decrease decode performance, but I haven't had any problems.

Here is someone else's video you can hear the distinct high pitched tone on:

Connecticut State Police Uniden Bearcat bcd396t scanner - YouTube

Here is my 396XT with the LP filter turned on; this is the same system as the first video:

BCD396XT Scanning w/New Firmware - YouTube

Jacob
Okay thanks for the samples. Yeah I recall hearing that noise on one system but can't remember which. It seems fine without it so that's good to know.
  #332 (permalink)  
Old 04-14-2012, 10:48 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: carrollton, ga. 30117
Posts: 9
Cool p25 filter

i think it depends on the p25 system that you are monitoring. i have mine switched to off on warrs p25 system middle west ga.
  #333 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 1:58 PM
yepme2's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: largo, florida
Posts: 3
Default

started the upgrade showed about 2/3 complete and hung at that point shut scanner down after 30 mins
started over on square 1 held l/o plus 6 while power on scanner display was blank and not lit. update program came back with communicator error. what next?
  #334 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 2:46 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,472
Default

Check your connections. Repeat the upgrade process. There is not way to permanently brick the scanner by doing an update.

You'll find more tips based on the specific error message you received here: http://wiki.radioreference.com/index...rmware_Upgrade
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer

Last edited by UPMan; 04-17-2012 at 2:53 PM..
  #335 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 5:26 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: carrollton, ga. 30117
Posts: 9
Default

do u no what com port ur pc is using to communicate with ur scanner ?
Sponsored links
  #336 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 5:53 PM
yepme2's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: largo, florida
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nailech View Post
do u no what com port ur pc is using to communicate with ur scanner ?
com4. USB not the problem it updated about half way then stopped now I cannot even turn it on..
no lcd display and no backlite..12v power is good..USB cable is good
  #337 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 6:37 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,472
Default

You need to restart from step 1, following all instructions, including when it tells you to power up while holding down the keys. Since the main firmware is broken, it isn't going to power normally (but the bootstrap code used for firmware updating is never touched, so the update process can be redone to fix the issue).
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
  #338 (permalink)  
Old 04-17-2012, 6:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: carrollton, ga. 30117
Posts: 9
Default

try holding down function and 1 key at the same time while powering on scanner for a system configuration check

Last edited by nailech; 04-17-2012 at 7:02 PM..
  #339 (permalink)  
Old 04-18-2012, 8:40 AM
yepme2's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: largo, florida
Posts: 3
Default

the grass is green and the birds are singing...I finely got a blue screen an updated 6 times each time it would advance a little further until finished ...Thanks for all the help.....
  #340 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2012, 8:36 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Northwest of Cloquet
Posts: 209
Default

Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9B176 Safari/7534.48.3)

Anyone seeing a problem with keypad when trunking? Just did update on 396xt and keypad would only work when a talk group was active. When no tg activity I could not do anything with keypad (was not locked). Things are fine in conventional systems. It was acting like it was working so hard at decoding it won't do anything else-I used the recommended settings and had no problems with firmware updating

Well, I just found my answer, had set baud rate to 4800 to communicate with my gps. I changed baud rate to 57600 and not having any issues. I have not updated 996xt and did not have same issue when down at 4800. Upman is this maybe a bug or something logical?

Last edited by jdm911; 04-29-2012 at 10:11 PM..
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 9:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions