RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 6:13 AM
DavidQT69's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 130
Question BCT-15X unit ID feature...

I have a question: I have the Unit ID feature properly displaying the UID's for my trunked systems, however for my conventional VHF channels they aren't displaying. My agency and surrounding agencies all have UID's for their portable radios and such so common sense tells me if my scanner displays UID's for a trunked system then it should display for a conventional system too, am I doing something wrong or is displaying UID's for a VHF or UHF channel not possible?
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 6:18 AM
lep's Avatar
lep lep is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 888
Smile

UID only displays on trunked systems. It appears you scanner is working normally,.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 6:25 AM
DavidQT69's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Lake Worth, FL
Posts: 130
Thumbs up Re: UID's

Quote:
Originally Posted by lep View Post
UID only displays on trunked systems. It appears you scanner is working normally,.
Hmmm, strange... I wonder why it will display on trunked systems but not conventional systems... Thx for the quick reply...
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 1:06 PM
DJ88's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Brick Twp., New Jersey
Posts: 2,065
Default

I wonder why Uniden does a lot of things they do.
__________________
My Toys:
Uniden BCT15X | Uniden BCD996T | Uniden BCD396T
Uniden BC785D | Bearcat 210XLT
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 2:07 PM
lep's Avatar
lep lep is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 888
Smile

I don't claim special knowledge of the subject however: this has nothing specific to do with Uniden. GRE and RS scanners behave exactly the same way. UID is a function of Trunking Systems, decoding was formerly only an add-on sofware packages like Unitrunker and required a hardware MOD to the radio to bring out an access point for the decoder
It has only been since aroud 2010 or so that scanners were designed with the needed decoding built-in. In many cases some late model scanners could add this feature by updating the firmware.
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-23-2012, 2:55 PM
druhe's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Southwest Pa
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidQT69 View Post
I have a question: I have the Unit ID feature properly displaying the UID's for my trunked systems, however for my conventional VHF channels they aren't displaying. My agency and surrounding agencies all have UID's for their portable radios and such so common sense tells me if my scanner displays UID's for a trunked system then it should display for a conventional system too, am I doing something wrong or is displaying UID's for a VHF or UHF channel not possible?
When you say conventional, do you mean analog ? If it's analog and you are referring to the "squawk" at the beginning or end of the transmission, it's more than likely MDC. At the present time there is no scanner capable of decoding it. MDC has been around for a long time, I never understood why it's not a feature.
__________________
--Dan-- KE3UC
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2012, 3:33 PM
lep's Avatar
lep lep is offline
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 888
Default

The display of UID in trunking systems is not a function of whether it is a digital or an analog system, UID works the same in both.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2012, 4:34 PM
scanningisfun's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Andover, Kansas
Posts: 634
Default

If it is MDC1200, you can download the program at the link I will post by clicking download in the sidebar. You can to hook your scanner with or without a tap. It will decode the MDC1200 IDs.

antistatic.org - winmdcd

Jacob
 

Tags
bct15x, uid, unit ids

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 3:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions