RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:05 AM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,440
Default BC125AT Firmware Update Released

http://info.uniden.com/twiki/pub/pub...areUpdate.html

We've changed a couple of things, in addition to the firmware itself:
  1. This update uses a new updater tool that we'll roll out for future updates to our other scanners, as well. We believe it is an improvement over the previous updaters...let us know what you think (like I need to tell you guys to do that ).
  2. I'm using a link that provides a much faster response from our servers than the previous style. The downside is that formatting is a little plain. The upside is near-instantaneous page serve. If you want to compare, try the above, then also try BC125ATFirmwareUpdate < UnidenMan4 < TWiki.
As to the update itself, changes are in the link above, but I'll copy them here:
  • Update the frequency steps in the VHF band to match the latest FCC Narrowbanding band plan.
  • Change the opening screen to include the current firmware version.
  • Apply a one-time routine to convert the memory image of existing channels to the new format required by the narrowbanding change.
  • Change how Marine channels are displayed during service search.
  • Fixed a bug that could cause scanning/reception to stop with certain combinations of Close Call and other features selected.
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer

Last edited by UPMan; 04-27-2012 at 12:44 PM..
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-27-2012, 11:53 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,702
Thumbs up

Gonna stick this for a little while so the 125 owners can
find it easy.
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2012, 9:45 AM
elmocoh's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Reading, MA
Posts: 8
Default BC125AT Firmware

Update successful. Thanks for the heads up.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2012, 10:58 PM
kcoleman's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tallassee, AL
Posts: 357
Thumbs up Seamless

Update was quick and easy. Now my county SO frequency displays correctly .

Kieth,
__________________
Monitoring Central Alabama
PRO-2043/2052/2055/160/BC-145XL/BC125AT
PRO-95/97/PSR-500/PSR-400(x4)/PSR-800
PRO-107/BC346XT/BC370CRS/Eton E5/ICOM R-75
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-28-2012, 11:54 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Herriman Utah
Posts: 12
Default Thanks

Thank you for continous improvements.
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2012, 5:41 AM
Member
   
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1,685
Default

Updated without any problems fast and easy. Thanks!
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-29-2012, 7:12 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hull, MA
Posts: 32
Default BC125AT Firmware Release

New firmware seems to work OK. Right now I can see the new boot-up screen with the version 1.02.05 displayed. I was not having any of the other problems except for the occasional tic tic noise and that was on channels I didn't use. Thanks to everyone for keeping us up to date. Still a GREAT scanner for the price and being used for what it was intended for.
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2012, 2:44 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hull, MA
Posts: 32
Default

This is one for Uniden and UPMan to consider. One of the most used functions with my Icom IC-R2 is the automatic timed turn-off function. I wonder if this could be incorporated in a firmware update for the BC125AT ? Also (but not as important), when the radio is scanning, instead of displaying the word SCAN, if it could display the scrolling frequencies it is actually scanning ?
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2012, 2:56 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,440
Default

Well, sleep timer would require the addition of a real-time clock to the hardware. You could possibly achieve this by running it on external power connected to a timed outlet.

It would be possible to have it attempt to display the frequencies being scanned, but it would be flying by so fast the LCD would never keep up (you'd see a grey blur of 888.8888). The scan speed is much faster than the LCD persistance. I think that the current method is probably a more optimal solution (while recognizing that there could be differing opinions...but I've seen both ways on other products, and the other way is both useless and annoying IMO).
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2012, 3:34 PM
scanningisfun's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Andover, Kansas
Posts: 633
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by UPMan View Post
Well, sleep timer would require the addition of a real-time clock to the hardware. You could possibly achieve this by running it on external power connected to a timed outlet.

It would be possible to have it attempt to display the frequencies being scanned, but it would be flying by so fast the LCD would never keep up (you'd see a grey blur of 888.8888). The scan speed is much faster than the LCD persistance. I think that the current method is probably a more optimal solution (while recognizing that there could be differing opinions...but I've seen both ways on other products, and the other way is both useless and annoying IMO).
Well said.

Jacob
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-30-2012, 5:21 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Hull, MA
Posts: 32
Default

I agree on the blur, but brand "X" does it somewhat OK. Fun to watch. As for the sleep timer, assuming the circuitry is driven by a microprocessor, any timing function is only a matter of software. When I worked (a while ago), we used micros all the time and usually it was only a matter of programming. Just my thoughts however for what they a worth Jacob.
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 05-03-2012, 9:00 PM
737mech's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Clark County, NV.
Posts: 919
Default New BC125AT

For some reason I can't get the computer (tried another) to detect the comm port and talk to the scanner with USB connected??? Tried the l/o + 6 thing no joy??
__________________
In Omnia Paratus!
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2012, 12:03 AM
737mech's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Clark County, NV.
Posts: 919
Default New BC125AT

Ok I figured it out, I guess I tried to jump to firmware upgrade first before driver install. Can't do that. Loaded the driver, then updated the firmware. I did attempt to copy paste from win500, it works. I got a fail message pop up but the tags and freqs went into place on the bc125 software no problem. Very fast to load this up.
Will post a review in a few days.
__________________
In Omnia Paratus!
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2012, 10:43 AM
DaveIN's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 6,216
Default

I'm curious what you think about the Mil-air coverage/reception.
__________________
Pop' Comm Monitoring Station ID: KPC9DV
CRB Research Monitor Station Registry: KIN9GP
GMRS: WQKL769
MARC ID:3126326
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-04-2012, 2:10 PM
737mech's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Clark County, NV.
Posts: 919
Default Bc125at milair

Only have this for a day now, this liitle scanner is keeping pace with my BCT-15 and BCT-15X on Milair just fine. It is better than the PSR-500 for audio, I'm getting fuzz and breaky comms on Milair on the 500. Nice and clear on the BC125AT. I have a few local freqs (Nellis Approach) that is out of range for the BC125AT. I need the 380-400 range. So far so good, the BC125AT is exactly what I needed for a handheld airbander VHF and UHF. I'm gonna load a few federal freqs from Lake Meade and see how it does in the 160-170 range. I should note the scanners are all connected to the same antenna the DPD LP118-1000 and fed through a PAR FM VHF filter. So comparisons are scanner only not the stock antenna. I will go out and compare with stock antennas/RS duckie/and Diamond RH77CA/Larson triband/and a homebrew magmount in a few days. I will be comparing the PSR500 and the BC125AT. I think it's pointless to compare to BCT-15X to the BC125ATas they probably have similar parts?
__________________
In Omnia Paratus!
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 05-13-2012, 9:31 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: east of the black hole
Posts: 12
Default

I am new to this, but I just purchased a BC125AT and when it fires up It says 1.02.05, so I believe that the new update is already installed?
I have a feeling I will be looking for guidance in using this scanner, so you will be seeing me alot.
TKS,
nepas
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 05-15-2012, 10:18 AM
DaveIN's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 6,216
Default

Yes, your'e up to date on the firmware.
__________________
Pop' Comm Monitoring Station ID: KPC9DV
CRB Research Monitor Station Registry: KIN9GP
GMRS: WQKL769
MARC ID:3126326
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2012, 7:07 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 73
Default I installed yhe firmware uptate but?

I installed the firmware uptate but where and when should I see 1.02.05?

When I turn it on the 1st screen shows: Uniden Bearcat BC125AT

Second Screen: Copyright 2012 Uniden Americia Corp. All Rights Reserved.
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2012, 7:17 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: east of the black hole
Posts: 12
Default

The firmware version comes up on the first screen under Uniden Bearcat BC125AT on my screen.
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2012, 10:29 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burnsville, MN
Posts: 73
Default Thank You!

I did not realize you had to go to the uniden folder and and click BC_VUP3 to execute the instilation program.
I have it update now.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions