RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 4:54 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 27
Default BCD996XT - P25 Question

I know that you do no need all the frequences in a simulcast to have it scan, only the primary and secondary control channels. I have been using a few of the programs and messing around with them to see which I like more and I noticed some have the ability to only import the CC's and not the rest of the simulcast. But Pro Scan does not have this option and you have to import all the frequencies.

My question: Is there a benefit to having all the frequencies or would this be a disadvantage and take away from P25 decoding?

Probably doesn't matter but I am listening to Minnesota ARMER system: Hennepin County East Simulcast, Minneapolis North and South Simulcast, Minneapolis City Center Simulcast, and Dakota County Simulcast.
Sponsored links
        
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 5:19 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Painesville, Ohio
Posts: 347
Default

I understand and share your frustration. My pro96 only requires the control channels and steers the radio accordingly per talkgroup. My bcd396xt does the same but it misses a lot of the action that the pro96 picks up on. I've been wondering the same thing as well.
__________________
KC8ESL - Lake County Ohio
TM-V71A, IC-2410H, TS-130S, FT-530, BCD-396XT, PRO-96
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 5:32 PM
ProScan's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWayzata View Post
I know that you do no need all the frequences in a simulcast to have it scan, only the primary and secondary control channels. I have been using a few of the programs and messing around with them to see which I like more and I noticed some have the ability to only import the CC's and not the rest of the simulcast. But Pro Scan does not have this option and you have to import all the frequencies.

My question: Is there a benefit to having all the frequencies or would this be a disadvantage and take away from P25 decoding?

Probably doesn't matter but I am listening to Minnesota ARMER system: Hennepin County East Simulcast, Minneapolis North and South Simulcast, Minneapolis City Center Simulcast, and Dakota County Simulcast.
ProScan does have the option "Import Control Channels Only". It's on the RR Import window above the Import button.

On the XT series scanners, there is no site option for Control Channels Only as the scanner will only use the Control Channels. Can't be changed.

See the following post by UPMan
http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...ml#post1104437

Last edited by ProScan; 04-06-2013 at 5:38 PM..
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 6:09 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProScan View Post
ProScan does have the option "Import Control Channels Only". It's on the RR Import window above the Import button.

I see that the Import control channels only when I have Motorola system type selected, but when I have P25 standard trunk selected the option for importing control channels only goes away.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 6:50 PM
ProScan's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWayzata View Post
I see that the Import control channels only when I have Motorola system type selected, but when I have P25 standard trunk selected the option for importing control channels only goes away.
Click the "Retrieve Data" button and then once the data is retrieved from the RR database, the "Import Control Channels Only" option will appear normal.
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 8:42 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 2,261
Default

There's only one thing to be gained by programming all of the frequencies associated with a site (or sites in a simulcast system). That being if there's a change to the system and a voice channel is becomes a control channel, you'd still be able to receive the system. The odds of this happening are exceedingly remote.

Having said that, there is another condition and the odds of this happening are even more remote. There could be a trunking system controller failure. If that happens the trunking system goes into a "Failsoft" configuration. See: Failsoft - The RadioReference Wiki

If a person wanted to, they could program their favorite system as a conventional system just in case (locking it out until that July snow happens). All of the frequencies would need to be programmed because they are subject to being used in the Failsoft configuration. Unfortunately, programming a scanner for doing this isn't something that can be done through a data import.

(There's a side benefit of this too. If someone is having trouble receiving a trunked system, turning on the conventional/failsoft programming is a good diagnostic tool. If you can hear it as a conventional system you know the system is "on the air" and it is received.)
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-06-2013, 9:01 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ProScan View Post
Click the "Retrieve Data" button and then once the data is retrieved from the RR database, the "Import Control Channels Only" option will appear normal.
Maybe it just does not show up with this system?
Attached Images
 
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2013, 5:49 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Minneapolis MN
Posts: 27
Default

Thank you all for you input!

Proscan, am I missing something here or should there be an option for CC only?
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2013, 6:21 PM
ProScan's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Ontario, Calif.
Posts: 1,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JBWayzata View Post
Thank you all for you input!

Proscan, am I missing something here or should there be an option for CC only?
Your right. For importing P25 systems to the 396XT and 996XT, the option wasn't in. It is now. Thanks for advising me.
Sponsored links
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions