RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #721 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2013, 6:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SOUTH BEND IN.
Posts: 183
Default

After reading how it works it got me thinking RR is a great site.I think we all take this site for granted at times.It has got to be a lot of work to keep it a first rate site.Things are tight but I will step up to a premium subscriber to help out. Thanks RR and to UPMan for his input Merry Christmas Now back to the topic LOL
Sponsored links
  #722 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 1:35 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sherwood, Oregon, USA
Posts: 321
Default

Quote:
can anyone just answer my one simple question ?. is the display white with black characters ?.
Yes, the display is white with black characters.
  #723 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 8:12 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Denver-Metro
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jay911 View Post
Nothing's been said so far about control channel output. The HomePatrol-1 does not have the same kind of CC output that the 396 does, and since these new scanners seem to be based largely on the HP1, it's unclear if they will have a compatible output. Maybe UPMan can comment on this?
That's a good question. Will the new scanners be capable of sending the same types of "control channel" data through the USB port, as compared to the 396XT?
__________________
"I am NOT a hacker and I have never, ever modified any device via JTAG or serial and I only use officially approved OEM connectors..."
  #724 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:43 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50
Cool

When they transition to X2-TDMA and then to TDMA, how will this be displayed on our scanners?

Will it show as X2 for X2-TDMA and then T for TDMA?

Is there room on the display for something like:

A = Analog

D = Digital

X2 = X2 TDMA

T = TDMA

Happy Holidays
  #725 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:59 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50
Default

It would be nice to see a future scanner that receives ACSB in the 216-220 MHz range,
Analog - Digital TV audio.
AM Broadcast for news purposes.
Sponsored links
  #726 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 3:16 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 3,655
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanJurekMrJerry View Post
It would be nice to see a future scanner that receives ACSB in the 216-220 MHz range,
Analog - Digital TV audio.
AM Broadcast for news purposes.
I doubt there is as much demand for ACSB as there is for DMR.

As for decoding ATSC audio, you would have to decode the entire 6 MHz datastream to get to the point where you could pick off the voice data, and that takes a lot of processing power.

There have been models that covered AM Broadcast.
As for news purposes, I listen to an FM news station.

Joe M.
  #727 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 3:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Voyager View Post
As for decoding ATSC audio, you would have to decode the entire 6 MHz datastream to get to the point where you could pick off the voice data, and that takes a lot of processing power.
I've heard it said several times that the size of the hardware required to decode OTA digital TV audio is
the deal killer, that it won't fit in a "portable" scanner.
But, then, I see the size of the little portable digital TV's, and it makes me wonder.......
  #728 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 4:19 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 310
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanny19 View Post
I've heard it said several times that the size of the hardware required to decode OTA digital TV audio is
the deal killer, that it won't fit in a "portable" scanner.
But, then, I see the size of the little portable digital TV's, and it makes me wonder.......
If you want to record the audio from a digital TV signal, you should buy a USB ATSC tuner stick and hook it to a laptop. They sell for as little as $30. No point in using a $500 scanner for that.
  #729 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 4:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by shanny19 View Post
I've heard it said several times that the size of the hardware required to decode OTA digital TV audio is
the deal killer, that it won't fit in a "portable" scanner.
But, then, I see the size of the little portable digital TV's, and it makes me wonder.......
I iust figured that a scanner like the 436 would do well with an/a ATSC/NTSC decoder along with the AM band would maker the perfect scanner. First you hear about something on the scanner and the you hear or see & hear about on the news on an all in one device.
Sponsored links
  #730 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 4:56 PM
kayi4cle's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Intermod Alley
Posts: 468
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanJurekMrJerry View Post
I iust figured that a scanner like the 436 would do well with an/a ATSC/NTSC decoder along with the AM band would maker the perfect scanner. First you hear about something on the scanner and the you hear or see & hear about on the news on an all in one device.
The thing is, often what I hear doesn’t make the news until much later, if ever.
  #731 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 5:02 PM
AZScanner's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Somewhere in this room. Right now, you're very cold.
Posts: 3,103
Default Re: BCD436HP Discussion Thread

Well if we're going to wish for stuff, give me a scanner that can let me watch the live video feed from the news helo while I listen to the incident. That would be awesome!

In all seriousness most of us have a tv, am radio or internet connected pc within arms reach anywhere we go. Including them in a scanner (and increasing the cost too) doesn't make much sense to me.

I'd love to see Uniden make a " video scanner" that could do 2 and 7 GHz analog and COFDM video. That would be way awesome. Imagine watching a live feed from your local news or police helicopter. Talk about cool - I'd never leave home without it!

-AZ
__________________
Author of ActiveEMS - Phoenix Fire Now Free!
Coming soon: http://phoenixfirevideos.net
Incident Notification now in Beta on Twitter: @PhoenixFireVids
  #732 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 8:50 AM
scannerman5555's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Brentwood,Suffolk County;L.I.;N.Y.
Posts: 330
Default

can you get Fm radio stations on this scanner ?
I know my BC 346 XT does !
__________________
I love Scanning Suffolk County ; L.I ; N.Y.; It's the Best Area !
my scanners : BC 346 XT ;Here's my Site's :
http://scannerman5555.proboards27.com
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/donm50_2/
  #733 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 8:57 AM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerman5555 View Post
can you get Fm radio stations on this scanner ?
I know my BC 346 XT does !
Yes. The FM Broadcast band is able to be received on the 436.
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #734 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 9:06 AM
KD4YGG's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Somewhere Out There....
Posts: 1,691
Default BCD436HP and P25 Conventional Talkgroups

Will the BCD436HP have the capability to display P25 Conventional Talkgroup IDs and/or Radio IDs?

I'm not asking about P25 trunking - asking P25 Conventional as is used by Kentucky State Police, etc.
  #735 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 9:22 AM
Jay911's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bragg Creek, Alberta
Posts: 6,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KD4YGG View Post
Will the BCD436HP have the capability to display P25 Conventional Talkgroup IDs and/or Radio IDs?

I'm not asking about P25 trunking - asking P25 Conventional as is used by Kentucky State Police, etc.
Uniden radios treat P25 Conventional as "P25 One Frequency Trunk". If you want to see TGs and RIDs on those channels, program them as OFT.
Sponsored links
  #736 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2013, 12:22 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 595
Default YES!

Quote:
Originally Posted by PanJurekMrJerry View Post
It would be nice to see a future scanner that receives ACSB in the 216-220 MHz range,
Analog - Digital TV audio.
AM Broadcast for news purposes.
Right the BR-330T does AM and Fm radio,its odd how the home patrol doesn't do either.
In NYC you can get TV audio on the 450MHZ band.This isnt so in all places...
  #737 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2013, 4:28 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,782
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k2rty View Post
Right the BR-330T does AM and Fm radio,its odd how the home patrol doesn't do either.
In NYC you can get TV audio on the 450MHZ band.This isnt so in all places...
The Uniden BR-330T can not be compared to the HP-1 as the 330 was Uniden's one recent foray into covering shortwave & AM broadcast in a handheld unit. The HP-1 is VHF/UHF/800 only without shortwave or AM Broadcast coverage.
You might as well compare the HP-1 to an AOR AR-8000 in your example.
Bottom line: You want AM broadcast/Shortwave reception buy a wideband receiver.
The BCD436HP/BCD536HP are scanners, not wideband receivers.

Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #738 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2013, 6:09 PM
gonzalu's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KE4ZNR View Post
The HP-1 is VHF/UHF/800 only without shortwave or AM Broadcast coverage.
Sadly the HP-1 can't pick up basic FM Broadcast band right next to the aviation band. Not sure why that was so hard to include it covers CB to 6 meters and then skips right to 108.000MHz ... It is very useful to have access to the radio stations on FM band, especially in an emergency communications sense.
__________________
Manny, N2MAV - Amateur Extra
BCD536HP, BCD996XT, HomePatrol, BC125AT, PCR1000, PRO-2042, OS-535
First Scanner: Realistic PRO-24
  #739 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2013, 6:19 PM
trsundstrom's Avatar
Mentor
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burlington County, NJ
Posts: 1,349
Default

Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; DROID BIONIC Build/9.8.2O-72_VZW-22) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Use something like Tunein Radio on your smartphone to listen to AM/FM stns in emergency condx. (Around here the all-news stations are only on AM.) You really don't want strong FM sigs causing intermodulation problems in a scanner, IMHO.
__________________
Tom - W2XQ - w2xq.com
  #740 (permalink)  
Old 12-15-2013, 6:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Ohio
Posts: 50
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by trsundstrom View Post
Wirelessly posted (Moto Droid Bionic: Mozilla/5.0 (Linux; U; Android 4.1.2; en-us; DROID BIONIC Build/9.8.2O-72_VZW-22) AppleWebKit/534.30 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/4.0 Mobile Safari/534.30)

Use something like Tunein Radio on your smartphone to listen to AM/FM stns in emergency condx. (Around here the all-news stations are only on AM.) You really don't want strong FM sigs causing intermodulation problems in a scanner, IMHO.
That is good to use when near a WiFi signal but unless you are loaded with cash then using an app like that while using 4G is a bad idea. Seriouslly I think that including the AM band would not have been hard nor the FM band. Then one has to decide if they should just include analog AM/FM or analog and digital.
 

Tags
bcd436hp, bcd536hp

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions