RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2013, 8:39 PM
BenScan's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2001
Posts: 276
Lightbulb Freescan to Sentinel conventional converter Excel file

Hello Fellow Scannerheads,

I tinkered around with an Excel spreadsheet today to make it easier for me to convert my Freescan conventional groups into Sentinel BCDx36 HP software. I thought I'd share it here in case anyone else finds it helpful.

Basically, you go into a Freescan conventional group, select and copy all of the channels you want to export, then paste them into the spreadsheet in A1, and the spreadsheet will apply some formulas to the Freescan fields, so that they can be copied from the spreadsheet into Sentinel. I've tried it with my own files, and I think it will save me some time.

You can download the spreadsheet at the link below.

http://www.bensware.com/scandfw/Free...CDSentinal.XLS

It does not use macros, but you'll probably get a message about those when you open it. I probably won't have too much time to help you troubleshoot any problems, but hopefully it will make your life a little easier, and not more complicated.

Oh, if you don't have Excel, it should work with OpenOffice available at http://www.openoffice.org/.

Happy Thanksgiving!
Ben

Last edited by BenScan; 11-28-2013 at 9:08 PM..
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 11-28-2013, 9:08 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,730
Default

Thanks for doing that! Looks like a great effort was put in. . .
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2013, 1:51 PM
lost_in_maine's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Western Maine Mountains
Posts: 324
Default

Has anyone tried this yet?
I have Excel but kind of forgot how to use it
__________________
HP-1 x2 BCD996XT
BCD-396XT - BCD-396T - BC9000XLT
ScanTenna x3 - WBD-40 Discone - Grove Scanner Beam
www.wirebridgeweather.com APRSWXNET http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?DW1694
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-01-2014, 12:50 PM
W2SJW's Avatar
Senior Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 07882
Posts: 2,027
Default

There is one critical issue with this - the form is confusing the PL/DPL column as 'audio type', and setting everything for 'analog only' & dropping the PL's.

Can you fix that? Otherwise, this is going to be a real timesaver!
__________________
Scott
NJ & PA Database Admin
My BCDx36 Files

  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2014, 9:03 AM
W2SJW's Avatar
Senior Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 07882
Posts: 2,027
Default

My humble apologies - I figured out the issue was user error! I was pasting data into the Excel file as 'simple' data, not 'full'. Once I corrected that, all was kosher!

Thanks for taking the time to put this together!
__________________
Scott
NJ & PA Database Admin
My BCDx36 Files

Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2014, 2:33 PM
JoeyC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,930
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W2SJW View Post
My humble apologies - I figured out the issue was user error! I was pasting data into the Excel file as 'simple' data, not 'full'. Once I corrected that, all was kosher!

Thanks for taking the time to put this together!
How does one paste as 'full' data after copying from FreeScan? I only have one option and that is Keep Text Only (T). When I do that I get that error because it doesn't recognize - as an audio type.

Even with the error, the data pastes correctly.
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2014, 2:37 PM
W2SJW's Avatar
Senior Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: 07882
Posts: 2,027
Default

Take the check mark out of the box shown & more columns will then open up in your channel grid:



I'm using Office 2013, and I just do a straight 'CTRL+V' with no issues...
__________________
Scott
NJ & PA Database Admin
My BCDx36 Files

  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2014, 3:25 AM
JoeyC's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 2,930
Default

I have never used simple view in FreeScan but oddly enough, I am not having the error show up anymore. I have NO idea what I was doing differently earlier this morning...

And oddly enough, I am not even getting the error when using Simple view! Maybe my Excel is possessed.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions