RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2013, 10:10 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default Uniden Home Patrol

Been reading page after page and to tell you the truth I'm still confused. I haven't picked up a scanner in a long time. Way before trunking and 900mhz was heard of. Hoping I can get someone who can hook me up with the setup I need.
I have a new home patrol and just downloaded the new software. I have several gps. Garmin 670 and Garmin 2595. The 670 have a small sma port in back so I am assuming it's for an additional antenna. I have a Maxrad Bmaxscan1000 antenna for the mobile vehicle antenna. I would like to hook a gps up for this scanner as well. Since I have a gps already I would like to use it. Not sure if it's just as easy to buy a gps hockey puck. I have some sma antenna adapter and wire from an old hockey puck gps antenna. Am I able to make a cable to utilize the 670 or 2595? If not I know the Garmin 350,60,70 series will work but I think after investing in a 350, then adapter, wires etc it might just be as easy to get the factory gps.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2013, 7:23 AM
JStemann's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: SE Indiana
Posts: 261
Default

check out this thread, if you haven't already.

http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...atrol-1-a.html

I use the garmin gps-18 and it works just fine. The only "complaint" I have with it is in some vehicles it HAS to be outside the vehicle to work. For example, my 2011 Ram, initially installed it on the dash. That worked fine until I started the truck, some sort of interference with the truck running would cause the gps to lose sats. Relocated it to the roof, all is well.

Jeff.
__________________
ab9uw

BC-396xt, RS Pro-96, BC-785D, BC-996t, IC-92AD, Ft-7800, Ft-897D, Kenwood Tm-D710a, Tm-V71A, BC-996xt, Hp-1
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:25 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Any way of keeping the back light from going off when listening to reply?

Anyway to alphabetize your favorite lists? When I set them up I did it willy nilly style so I have districts that I want to move closer together instead of having them on different pages or having to scroll down the page

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-10-2013, 12:40 PM
KE4ZNR's Avatar
KE4ZNR@radioreference.com
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 5,529
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawman210 View Post
Anyway to alphabetize your favorite lists? When I set them up I did it willy nilly style so I have districts that I want to move closer together instead of having them on different pages or having to scroll down the page

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
From within Sentinel:
Edit->Sort Favorite Lists.
Select A-Z.
Marshall KE4ZNR
__________________
NC/SC Forum Moderator/Database Administrator
Frequently Asked Questions
Forum Rules & Guidelines

@KE4ZNR on Twitter
http://instagram.com/KE4ZNR
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2013, 1:16 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Oh ok so u need to do it from software then sync it with home patrol
I haven't figured out how to put the channels into my favorites list in the software. For now I just add them to my lists as they pop up on scanner.
How do you view the channels you set as a favorite? I can view my created lists but not my default favorite list. Can view it on software only


Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 8:48 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Eastern Dane Co
Posts: 228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawman210 View Post
I have a new home patrol and just downloaded the new software. I have several gps. Garmin 670 and Garmin 2595. ...Since I have a gps already I would like to use it. Not sure if it's just as easy to buy a gps hockey puck. ...Am I able to make a cable to utilize the 670 or 2595? If not I know the Garmin 350,60,70 series will work but I think after investing in a 350, then adapter, wires etc it might just be as easy to get the factory gps.
You can use the 2595 with the Argent GTRANS2 cable for $50, but the traffic feature of the Garmins may not work while using the cable. Since it is custom made, you can specify the connectors to eliminate any adapters for a cleaner install. Scott Miller is very helpful and can be reached through the contact page.
https://www.argentdata.com/support/fmi.html

See http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...anner-gps.html for discussion on using the traffic feature with the GTRANS2 cable.
__________________
BCD396XT, BC245XLT & Pro-164
Fleet of TK-8180, 880, 3173, & 3160
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2014, 9:29 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Gonna bump this If no response I will start a new thread.
Anyone hook a uniden gps to the new bcd536 yet?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2014, 8:47 AM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,066
Default

I have. Works just fine.
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2014, 1:45 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default Re: Uniden Home Patrol

Quote:
Originally Posted by UPMan View Post
I have. Works just fine.
Thanks upman. If I travel only 50 mile radius of my home will the gps be of benefit? With a gps do you still use favorites or do you use the whole database?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2014, 2:10 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,066
Default

I find it quite useful, even when just driving around the metroplex. You can use it with the main database or favorites list(s) or both.
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2014, 2:34 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

U have the part number of the uniden gps that works the best? I have seen 2 different ones on ebay. They are both hockey puck style but look slightly different

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-30-2014, 2:35 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,066
Default

Serial GPS Receiver for Scanner and Marine Products - Accessories at Uniden
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions