RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-07-2013, 10:14 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 408
Default Is Home patrol extreme worth it?

I am pretty dumb when it comes to the new scanners. Probably be a long while before I figure it all out. Should I invest in the extreme package for the Home Patrol?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2013, 7:52 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ZZV - Ohio
Posts: 507
Default

Yes if you have a use for it.

No if you don't.

IMHO - if you need to ask - you don't need it.

I have one with and 1 with out. I also will admit I rarely use it,BUT I do find some uses very valuable.

Some highlights - Using ArcPAtrol in Virtual mode to log.

Running Unitrunker - Ohio just did a major rebanding - ez to keep track of local sites.

Signal Strength - ez to adjust, cut, mount antennas with instant power graph.


It just depends on your expectations and skilss - for day to day scanning you don't need it.
__________________
HP-1 x2 , BC780, BCD996, Pro 2005, 2006, AT803,R5000
and other RF capture devices
-Remember Bill Cheek -
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2013, 9:27 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawman210 View Post
I am pretty dumb when it comes to the new scanners. Probably be a long while before I figure it all out. Should I invest in the extreme package for the Home Patrol?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Was there anything in the list of the Extreme Upgrade features that interests you, or that you could use in your area?

.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2013, 12:38 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 6
Default

I been thinking that too, but why pay that money when you have 2 New scanners coming to the market in a month or so--thats probably much better than the HP, Im waiting
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2013, 1:08 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 408
Default

I think the the antenna location feature would be useful. What 2 new scanners are coming out that are better then the Hp1 and the cost of those units?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
        
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2013, 1:12 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,534
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawman210 View Post
I think the the antenna location feature would be useful. What 2 new scanners are coming out that are better then the Hp1 and the cost of those units?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Check here:

http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...on-thread.html

http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...on-thread.html
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2013, 3:55 PM
beischel's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Pierce Township, Ohio
Posts: 159
Default No

I bought it, not worth it in my opinion. I never have had a need for it.

I would pay money if they would ever come out with a firmware update to provide better P25 decoding.
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions