RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 10:08 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,756
Default

Have you tried doing an FCC License search?

License Search - Advanced License Search
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 10:53 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default Re: Quick ? My wife works for a security company....

Quote:
Originally Posted by ofd8001 View Post
Have you tried doing an FCC License search?

License Search - Advanced License Search
That's a very interesting site. I did a search for as a novice could do and found some listings that may be valid however they are a national chain and it gives multiple licenses but freqs seem to be in the 461, 464 469 range

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 10:56 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default Re: Quick ? My wife works for a security company....

Quote:
Originally Posted by smp928s View Post
I did a search with this and it gives results of 27 towers and 50 antennas found but I don't know what I'm looking at. Lol

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:01 PM
W8RMH's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 3,188
Default

If it is a contract security company the radios could be licensed by the client. If so, try searching for the company at the location she is working at.
__________________
.
BCD996XT BCD396XT BCT15X BCT15 BEARCAT IV YAESU FT60R
Columbus Police Dispatch

  #25 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:03 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Clicked on one and it shows an antenna right next to her building it gives height, power output power radiated and 2 frequencies. I guess that could be it

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Ok I tried direct entry into the Hp1 using the advanced menu, quick frequency entry then accept then listen but it's still on the local channels that I was listening to. Once I put the freq in then what do I do? Also how do I determine if the freq is a am, fm, or nfm? Does this setting matter?

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 12-12-2013, 11:57 PM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA51
Posts: 2,243
Default

CP100's will do FM or NFM. Legally they should be on NFM, but they may not be. It shouldn't matter too much, either one will receive it. If you use NFM and it sound distorted, use FM.
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 12:14 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Well one freq I heard a faint transmission that sounded like it was a maintenance person. Haven't heard anything on the other channel but didn't figure I would since I came home and I'm about 10 miles away as the crow flies and using factory supplied antenna

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 1:31 AM
mmckenna's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SNCZCA51
Posts: 2,243
Default

CP200's are 2 watts and have poor antennas, so receiving it from a mile away would be doing pretty good. You'd need to be pretty close to hear them.

Don't get too much into the database searches that use locations. If it's a big security company they can have licenses that cover the nation, state, or large geographic area. It's unlikely they'd be running a repeater, so searching for antenna sites may not be helpful. Finding your wife's company in the FCC database would be a good place to start. But, as others have said, the radios/license might belong to the client. It's not totally out of the question that they are not licensed, either.
Sponsored links
        
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 1:49 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

Being a cp100 I figured that would help me a little because for them to pick up that signal with them little radios I figured they would have to put a bit of juice to them. There is an antenna located on or near their property referencing their name and saying 10 watt so I would think they would be licensed as it is over 4 watts right? I am going to try again in the next few days going up there and manually inputting those frequencies in.
On the manual feature n the Hp1 u can just input the freq and and hit the accept button right? Don't have to hit the listen button do you? When I do that it goes back to scanning whatever favorite I have scanning at the time

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 8:06 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 63
Default

Just hit accept lawman. Like you said, when you hit listen that takes you back to scanning the database/favorite list you were working off of.

You can do a favorites list on the computer in Sentinel too. Put all possible frequencies in and then turn on that favorites list while you are scanning your normal database (or just scan the favorites list).
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 11:11 AM
ShyFlyer's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 73
Default

Another option is that the radios may be operating in the MURS band. I worked for a company that did security at a large call center. The client provided the radios and I think they were in that band (I never really checked). They weren't powerful as there were a few dead spots before even leaving the property.
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 12-13-2013, 12:55 PM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 4,884
Default

I'm going to make a stab as to the frequencies, MURS in the 151-154.7MHz range. You can check here on RR in the Wiki for the actual frequencies. See if they match what you located on the FCC license site.
There is even a thread here on RR for frequencies used at the stores and warehouses.
The company I worked for five years used CP-100's in the UHF range with business frequencies. Used a scanner in CC and got the frequencies (4 with the DCS codes).
Larry
__________________
Digital/Analog scanning and hamming
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 12:15 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Palestine, Texas
Posts: 40
Default

(1)Have your wife take the battery off the back of the radio and look inside. A lot of radios have the frequency that they are operating on them inside the battery case. (2) go to your local Radio Shack and ask if they have the frequency. A lot of the times, they have them on a list at the store because you are not the only one who wants to listen in. (3) Call the local radio shop and ask to talk to a tech. Tell him your story, he might give you the frequency. (4) Look in the RR data base for your county under businesses...just a few thoughts..
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 3:02 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

I had her take the back off the radio and no frequencies. It Did FCC Id etc

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
Sponsored links
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 3:23 PM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 4,884
Default

lawman210, you have a PM.
Larry
__________________
Digital/Analog scanning and hamming
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 3:42 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default

PM answered

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 3:58 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 1,756
Default

If you could post a picture of the radio used by your wife, which shows the antenna, it could provide a clue. It might help us narrow down whether the frequncies are in the 800, 450-470 or 150 range. That's not a guarantee however.

If the building is very large (on the order of 100,000 square feet), it's possible a repeater is being used. If so, you might be able to monitor the comms at home. But if their radios are simplex (transmitting and receiving on the same frequency) you may be out of luck. Concrete and steel of warehouse structures soak up radio "stuff". If there is a base station, such as a mobile radio on a power supply connected to an exterior antenna, you might be able to hear the base to portable part of the conversation.

Lastly if there's a model number on the sticker (the one with the FCC ID), please post that (it's probably a long series of alpha characters and digits). We might be able to decode the frequency range of the radio from the model number. Some times the long model numbers give a little more information on the radio configuration.
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 4:07 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Eastern Dane Co
Posts: 228
Default Re: Quick ? My wife works for a security company....

Quote:
Originally Posted by lawman210 View Post
I had her take the back off the radio and no frequencies. It Did FCC Id etc
Use the FCC ID to find the frequency band (click on the check mark icon in the Display Grant column)
OET -- FCC ID Search
__________________
BCD396XT, BC245XLT & Pro-164
Fleet of TK-8180, 880, 3173, & 3160
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 12-14-2013, 4:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
Default Re: Quick ? My wife works for a security company....

Quote:
Originally Posted by SB-Wi View Post
Use the FCC ID to find the frequency band (click on the check mark icon in the Display Grant column)
OET -- FCC ID Search
That's great. Gonna need to wait til Monday as I just realized the picture my wife sent isn't clear enough to read every digit of the FCC ID. I really appreciate all your guys help and replies

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 8:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions