RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2014, 12:44 PM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,536
Default BCD536HP Post-Release Thread

Read/perform the following as soon as you get your new scanner.

BCD536HP < UnidenMan4 < TWiki

Previous discussion is at http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...on-thread.html.

Discuss actual performance results, below.
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer

Last edited by UPMan; 01-18-2014 at 1:04 PM..
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2014, 8:47 PM
Administrator
   
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 241
Default

ATTENTION ALL:

To help the participants in this thread please restrict your post to your experiences with the scanner. This is not the place to complain; you're more than welcome to but please voice that in your own thread. If you need help with how to use the scanner this is not the thread for you. You will get the best help by starting your own thread.

We will at our discretion delete your post without warning if you do not heed our requests. We thank you for your cooperation and I'm sure the lurkers will too. I hate to have to make these types of posts but the past threads have shown they're needed.
__________________
To contact me please use the forum email function as I do not accept Private Messages unless you're on my contact list.

All rules and guidelines are covered in this forum. These are required reading for new members and all existing should follow for any updates.
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2014, 9:49 PM
wise871's Avatar
FL, GA, AL, MS Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.W. Florida
Posts: 2,443
Default

I'll be the first to report an experience I discovered. You now have the ability to turn individual national database systems on and off. With the HP-1 you could only turn on/off the entire systems and avoid what you didn't want to monitor. Now in the 536 you can Select Nationwide Systems and turn them on and off individually. Example in the menu you now have Air Show - USA, Amateur Radio - USA, American Red Cross-USA, etc. This option is not in the Sentinel Software that I have found.
__________________
Dan M
BCD436HP /BCD536HP /BCD396XT /BCD996T(XT) /BCT15X /PRO-197 /PRO-106 /PSR-410 /HP-1 /BC898T
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:25 AM
rgore's Avatar
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wise871 View Post
I'll be the first to report an experience I discovered. You now have the ability to turn individual national database systems on and off. With the HP-1 you could only turn on/off the entire systems and avoid what you didn't want to monitor. Now in the 536 you can Select Nationwide Systems and turn them on and off individually. Example in the menu you now have Air Show - USA, Amateur Radio - USA, American Red Cross-USA, etc. This option is not in the Sentinel Software that I have found.
You sure the HP-1 doesn't have this feature? If I go from the "Main Menu" in my HP to "Advanced Menu" then "Select Nationwide Systems" I get the same options to turn "Air Show - USA" on or off..

OUT.
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-19-2014, 10:37 AM
wise871's Avatar
FL, GA, AL, MS Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.W. Florida
Posts: 2,443
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rgore View Post
You sure the HP-1 doesn't have this feature? If I go from the "Main Menu" in my HP to "Advanced Menu" then "Select Nationwide Systems" I get the same options to turn "Air Show - USA" on or off..

OUT.
I stand corrected. I never saw that on my HP-1. Thanks for point that out.
__________________
Dan M
BCD436HP /BCD536HP /BCD396XT /BCD996T(XT) /BCT15X /PRO-197 /PRO-106 /PSR-410 /HP-1 /BC898T
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 3:56 AM
wm8s's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 609
Default

Did I miss something? Here are the instructions for the WiFi dongle:

============
1. Download Wi-Fi-Updater.zip.
2. Unzip the files downloaded in Step 1. Then, unzip the files in STM_VCP.zip.
3. Navigate to the STM_VCP directory and run either VCP_V1.3.1_Setup.exe or VCP_V1.3.1_Setup_x64.exe depending on whether you are running a 32-bit or 64-bit OS.
4. Plug the Wi-Fi dongle directly into a USB port on your PC and allow it to install.
5. Unzip the files in FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.zip.
6. Navigate to the FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1 directory, then run Setup.exe to install the updater.
7. Run the program you installed in Step 6 by navigating to the Uniden --> BCDx36HP --> BC_Wifi_Updater application launcher in your programs list.
8. When prompted, point the updater to the FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.bin file part of what you unzipped in Step 2.
============

When I unzipped "Wi-Fi-Updater.zip", it contained "STM_VCP.zip" as described in the instructions. But I can't do step 5, because the only other two files in the main zip file are:

FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.bin [NOT .zip]
and
BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip [not mentioned in the instructions]

The "BC-WF1... zip" file does have a "setup.exe" in it. Are we supposed to unzip that file, then in step 8, point the program at the .bin file that was in the main "Wi-Fi-Updater.zip" file? I.e., should steps 5 & 6 refer to "BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip" instead?

Thanks.

...R
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 4:30 AM
wm8s's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 609
Default

The 536 manual contains this warning:

Quote:
WARNING! If you connect an external speaker to the scannerís Ext. SP jack or headphone
jack, never connect the audio output line to a power supply and ground. This might
also damage the scanner.
BCD536HP Only - All audio output is Class-D amplified (PWM). Never connect Ext. SP
jack or headphone jack to an external Class-D AMP.
I'm not sure why anyone would ever "connect the audio output line to a power supply." Is it safe to connect the 536 to any external audio amplifier? 0.8W isn't much. I was thinking of connecting mine to an amplified speaker and be able to switch it over to the Radio input on a PA/Siren box for routing to a grill speaker.

Thanks!
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 7:45 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,766
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wm8s View Post
Did I miss something? Here are the instructions for the WiFi dongle:

============
1. Download Wi-Fi-Updater.zip.
2. Unzip the files downloaded in Step 1. Then, unzip the files in STM_VCP.zip.
3. Navigate to the STM_VCP directory and run either VCP_V1.3.1_Setup.exe or VCP_V1.3.1_Setup_x64.exe depending on whether you are running a 32-bit or 64-bit OS.
4. Plug the Wi-Fi dongle directly into a USB port on your PC and allow it to install.
5. Unzip the files in FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.zip.
6. Navigate to the FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1 directory, then run Setup.exe to install the updater.
7. Run the program you installed in Step 6 by navigating to the Uniden --> BCDx36HP --> BC_Wifi_Updater application launcher in your programs list.
8. When prompted, point the updater to the FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.bin file part of what you unzipped in Step 2.
============

When I unzipped "Wi-Fi-Updater.zip", it contained "STM_VCP.zip" as described in the instructions. But I can't do step 5, because the only other two files in the main zip file are:

FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.bin [NOT .zip]
and
BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip [not mentioned in the instructions]

The "BC-WF1... zip" file does have a "setup.exe" in it. Are we supposed to unzip that file, then in step 8, point the program at the .bin file that was in the main "Wi-Fi-Updater.zip" file? I.e., should steps 5 & 6 refer to "BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip" instead?

Thanks.

...R
Yep, I noticed that too. The instructions do not correspond to the folder/file structure of the download.

.
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 8:44 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Michigan
Posts: 220
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wm8s View Post
Did I miss something? Here are the instructions for the WiFi dongle:

============
1. Download Wi-Fi-Updater.zip.
2. Unzip the files downloaded in Step 1. Then, unzip the files in STM_VCP.zip.
3. Navigate to the STM_VCP directory and run either VCP_V1.3.1_Setup.exe or VCP_V1.3.1_Setup_x64.exe depending on whether you are running a 32-bit or 64-bit OS.
4. Plug the Wi-Fi dongle directly into a USB port on your PC and allow it to install.
5. Unzip the files in FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.zip.
6. Navigate to the FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1 directory, then run Setup.exe to install the updater.
7. Run the program you installed in Step 6 by navigating to the Uniden --> BCDx36HP --> BC_Wifi_Updater application launcher in your programs list.
8. When prompted, point the updater to the FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.bin file part of what you unzipped in Step 2.
============

When I unzipped "Wi-Fi-Updater.zip", it contained "STM_VCP.zip" as described in the instructions. But I can't do step 5, because the only other two files in the main zip file are:

FWUpdate_WriteData_UartDisable_ver.5.1.bin [NOT .zip]
and
BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip [not mentioned in the instructions]

The "BC-WF1... zip" file does have a "setup.exe" in it. Are we supposed to unzip that file, then in step 8, point the program at the .bin file that was in the main "Wi-Fi-Updater.zip" file? I.e., should steps 5 & 6 refer to "BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip" instead?

Thanks.

...R
It should say:
5. Unzip the files in BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.zip
6. Navigate to BC-WF1_FirmwareUpdater_Version0.00.03.
__________________
BCD436HP, BCD536HP, Pro-106, Pro-97, PSR800, PSR310, BR330T, and wishing for a real base (not mobile) trunking scanner.
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-20-2014, 8:54 AM
UPMan's Avatar
Uniden Representative
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 8,536
Default

I corrected it (had changed some things mid-stream to make it easier and missed changing the file name/structure).
__________________
Uniden Product Ninja
Who is UpMan and why doesn't he answer my email/phone call?
Professional Scanner Developer
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 8:37 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 116
Default Amazon Has them

Amazon can get you a 536 at a slightly higher cost if someone is interested.


Jim
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 8:46 PM
N8IAA's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Fortunately, GA
Posts: 5,075
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimNS3K View Post
Amazon can get you a 536 at a slightly higher cost if someone is interested.


Jim
More than $600? Why would you do that
Larry
__________________
Digital/Analog scanning and hamming
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 8:50 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 116
Default

Just putting the info out there.
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:01 PM
03msc's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 650
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by N8IAA View Post
More than $600? Why would you do that
Larry
I agree...but...notice it is free shipping...and if a retailer website charged $25 shipping on top of $599, well...same difference.
__________________
Mark | KD5BVX / WQUD713 | Arkansas
RS Pro-106 | Uniden HP-1, 996XT, 15X | Kenwood, Icom, Vertex, Yaesu
Thanks for being part of the RadioReference Community!
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:18 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pimp County, Neveda
Posts: 915
Default

Not sure if this is true or not but I think you have to pay state tax on all items on Amazon now. That would be about 50 bucks extra in taxes I think. Correct me if I am wrong
Sponsored links
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:19 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 33
Default

Yeah. You are right. It should still be cheaper to get it from a smaller retailer.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:19 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Tucson
Posts: 14
Default sales tax

That is correct
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:22 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 91
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsima1 View Post
Not sure if this is true or not but I think you have to pay state tax on all items on Amazon now. That would be about 50 bucks extra in taxes I think. Correct me if I am wrong
Some may have to, but not all....
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:24 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hudson, MA
Posts: 33
Default

I just tried adding it to my cart and they did not add any sales tax. I wish I could afford to buy it

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 01-22-2014, 9:58 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 262
Default Re: BCD536HP Post-Release Thread

Quote:
Originally Posted by pepsima1 View Post
Not sure if this is true or not but I think you have to pay state tax on all items on Amazon now. That would be about 50 bucks extra in taxes I think. Correct me if I am wrong
It all depends on the warehouse that the item ships from. If I order something that ships from an Arizona warehouse I am charged state taxes on it. If it ships from an out of state warehouse I am not charged any state sales tax.

Sent from my fertile imagination.
__________________
Uniden BCD436HP
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions