RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2014, 5:07 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: North Pole, Alaska
Posts: 2,322
Default How to install Uniden Sentinel on Mac.

Quote:
Originally Posted by yancmo View Post
Did it recognize your scanner? I can't even get my Mac or virtual PC to mount the mass storage drive in the radio. It worked fine on a laptop I have bug I really want to use my Mac.

I haven't tried it yet, I should get my radio tomorrow. I'll report what happens then hopefully.
__________________
JETorres
Sponsored links
  #42 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2014, 5:15 PM
Nightjock's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Rochester/Victor, NY
Posts: 80
Default

A native Mac version of Sentinel would be the best option. I can't stress that enough.

On with my experiences...

Thanks to the OP for posting the instructions. I never would have tackled it myself without a guide, and I'm pretty technical. I have Sentinel running in WineBottler on my mid 2009 MacBook Pro running the latest OS. Again, thank you.

My 536HP is up and running with one small workaround. Sentinel will not recognize the scanner via USB cable. It actually corrupted the database when I tried it that way. I've been removing the micro SD card from my scanner and popping in into the SD card slot on my Mac using a micro SD to SD card adapter.

I've updated the firmware, and set up my favorites through Sentinel. I'm pretty stoked right now.

Once I have everything on my 536HP dialed in as good as my trusty 396XT, I'll try programming that one as well with the same method. The only thing holding me back is I can't remove the memory from that scanner. USB cable will be my only choice. That leaves me a bit weary.

Until then, go Broncos.
__________________
Uniden BCD 536HP, Uniden BCD 396XT, Uniden Bearcat 210XLT, Worldstar MG-6000, Baofeng UV-B5
  #43 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2014, 5:16 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Default Parallels 9 and Sentinel on MacBook Pro can't mount 436

@gonzalu

--Do not use Windows XP especially if it has been running for a while and especially if it has been running other serial drivers or scanner software. Try installing a fresh copy under a new VM.

I did a fresh install today from the get go, no good.

I'll try Windows 8.1 tomorrow, however I think it's a driver issue for the usb port.....
  #44 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2014, 5:51 PM
nr2d's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Laurel Springs, NJ
Posts: 187
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightjock View Post
A native Mac version of Sentinel would be the best option. I can't stress that enough.

On with my experiences...

Thanks to the OP for posting the instructions. I never would have tackled it myself without a guide, and I'm pretty technical. I have Sentinel running in WineBottler on my mid 2009 MacBook Pro running the latest OS. Again, thank you.

My 536HP is up and running with one small workaround. Sentinel will not recognize the scanner via USB cable. It actually corrupted the database when I tried it that way. I've been removing the micro SD card from my scanner and popping in into the SD card slot on my Mac using a micro SD to SD card adapter.

I've updated the firmware, and set up my favorites through Sentinel. I'm pretty stoked right now.

Once I have everything on my 536HP dialed in as good as my trusty 396XT, I'll try programming that one as well with the same method. The only thing holding me back is I can't remove the memory from that scanner. USB cable will be my only choice. That leaves me a bit weary.

Until then, go Broncos.
You preaching to the choir on a native program for a Mac. There is a discussion in the Sentinel thread. I hate to say it that a Mac is still an orphan computer. Thats why I kept my Windows machine when I got my iMac. There are some things for my scanners and ham radio that are just better on a Windows machine IMHO.

And the reason I went to an iMac was to get away from Windows for my primary computer. Just my $0.02.
  #45 (permalink)  
Old 02-02-2014, 7:35 PM
sefrischling's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New London, CT
Posts: 230
Default

It keeps crashing with "Too Many Heap Sections"
Sponsored links
        
  #46 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2014, 8:46 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto ON & New Smyrna Beach FL
Posts: 21
Default UNIDEN BCD436HP AND THE MAC

Quote:
Originally Posted by nr2d View Post
You preaching to the choir on a native program for a Mac. There is a discussion in the Sentinel thread. I hate to say it that a Mac is still an orphan computer. Thats why I kept my Windows machine when I got my iMac. There are some things for my scanners and ham radio that are just better on a Windows machine IMHO.

And the reason I went to an iMac was to get away from Windows for my primary computer. Just my $0.02.
I have successfully run scanner software on my MacBook Pro on VMware with Windows XP for my PRO-96, BR330T, BC125AT, PSR-800 and several other scanners. But although with VMware my MAC knows the BCD436HP is at the end of the wire, it will not communicate with the scanner. MAC computers are becoming much more prevalent these days and if Uniden wants to continue to be relevant with the more modern world, one would think they would take steps to make sure their most up-to-date scanner be able to interface with the MAC. As it stands so far, OWNING A BCD436HP has been a GIANT STEP BACKWARDS in a period of very many years that I have owned computer programable scanners as evidenced by my list of scanners above. I hope Uniden or someone comes up with a solution soon.
  #47 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2014, 10:56 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 134
Default

With how mainstream Macs are these days and the higher adoption rates of OSX vs PC. You think from a company standpoint they would release a Mac version of the software. Mac is 1000x different then it was 15 years ago. Think about making your customers happy, and not just about what is the companies standard practice. Change within a company goes a long way, and this could be one of those changes that would help them.
__________________
BNN NJATF -- North Jersey BC 996XT | BCT 15X | BC 396XT | BC 346XT | BC 780XLT | Pro 96 | RS Pro 405 | Pro 135 | PRO 2050
  #48 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2014, 2:51 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Smile Mac Success

The key to success for me in getting Sentinel to work on the mac via Winebottler is "using the SD card slot on my Mac using a micro SD to SD card adapter." Via usb direct to the scanner, does not work with Sentinel, the card adapter does work. I'm now up are running. New firmware installed. New favorites list installed. Much mashing of teeth however.
  #49 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2014, 4:46 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 64
Default

Okay, heres what I've come up with for whats it worth.

Question first though:
Quote:
Originally Posted by wise871 View Post
Works like a champ. Just installed it this evening and it works great.
Wise, what version of OSX are you running? If its 10.9.1 can you recall any other usb drivers for handhelds you may have installed in the past?


Mavericks 10.9.1 has so far been a common theme. It won't mount the scanner no matter the card format. SD formatter did see the card in the scanner and allow me to format it but it wouldn't mount after the fact. I formatted with a card reader and copied all my files and put the card back in the scanner with no problem. Hook the scanner up to the mac and again and the card gets fried. I had to format and re-load and no problems again.

Obviously the the best thing would be for a native Sentinel app. But maybe Uniden can work on atleast some mac drivers that we can use to mount the scanner.

Hope this helps some or maybe help get the nerd juices flowing for someone that might be able to come up with something. :-)
__________________
Yancy
BCD436HP & BC246T
Sponsored links
  #50 (permalink)  
Old 02-03-2014, 8:43 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 31
Default

Just a tidbit of info on this subject.

I've been using Parallels and Windows XP successfully with an HP1 thru USB for the last couple of years. Today I used it for the first time since upgrading to Mavericks (and maybe the first time since upgrading to Parallels 9). On initial hookup via USB, Sentinel for HP would not see the card. Windows would recognize that a drive was there but couldn't read it. I eventually pulled the card, put it in an SD carrier and formatted it using OSX Disk Utility with it in the iMac's card slot. Back in the HP1, Sentinel would see it (had x's for the device ID) thru Parallels and USB - sent a clean new DB download to the card and all is well for now (Device ID (ESN?) now showing on the card info window). Made several back and forth saves making tweaks to my Favorites lists with no further issues.

Don't know what this means for Sentinel for x36, but fwiw... I should have a 536 in a few days and have my fingers crossed.

Ron
  #51 (permalink)  
Old 02-04-2014, 10:17 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 9
Default

Has anyone tried the new USB drivers posted today by Upman on a VM/Mac setup? Was it a Mac issue or was it a Windows 8.1 issue ?
  #52 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 6:32 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moore, OK
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickSuthers View Post
Has anyone tried the new USB drivers posted today by Upman on a VM/Mac setup? Was it a Mac issue or was it a Windows 8.1 issue ?
I thought about it but I really think its a way the scanner is loading on the mac not the virtual.

I've been updating my scanner via usb card and mac fine. I even hooked up to my pc and updated with no issue so its definitely the scanner and this particular OS.

Thanks for the thought though. We'll figure this out eventually.
__________________
Yancy
BCD436HP & BC246T
  #53 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 8:10 AM
nr2d's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Laurel Springs, NJ
Posts: 187
Default

I notice on my iMac that when I download or copy from it and read them in my Windows machine, the iMac creates several extra files, .trash and several more. When you run your Windows on the Mac does it also create these extra files?
  #54 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 1:13 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by testdummy View Post
Just a tidbit of info on this subject.

I've been using Parallels and Windows XP successfully with an HP1 thru USB for the last couple of years. Today I used it for the first time since upgrading to Mavericks (and maybe the first time since upgrading to Parallels 9). On initial hookup via USB, Sentinel for HP would not see the card. Windows would recognize that a drive was there but couldn't read it. I eventually pulled the card, put it in an SD carrier and formatted it using OSX Disk Utility with it in the iMac's card slot. Back in the HP1, Sentinel would see it (had x's for the device ID) thru Parallels and USB - sent a clean new DB download to the card and all is well for now (Device ID (ESN?) now showing on the card info window). Made several back and forth saves making tweaks to my Favorites lists with no further issues.

Don't know what this means for Sentinel for x36, but fwiw... I should have a 536 in a few days and have my fingers crossed.

Ron
Well, I'm sorry to report that this approach didn't work for me with the 536. Trying to communicate to the card from XP on Parallels via the 536 or a card reader made the card unusable in the 536 and several varied attempts to reformat on the Mac (either from OSX or from XP) wouldn't make the card usable in the 536 again.

I've been aggravated for several years trying to use PC only stuff in various approaches to emulation on my Macs and this was the last straw. Picked up a cheap Windows 8.1 laptop for less than the price of a good cellphone and did a low level format on the card and I'm in business with Sentinel and the 536.

Ron
  #55 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 1:55 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 15
Default

I did a fresh install of VMWare 6 and Windows XP and now Windows 7 on a 2010 MacBook Pro. I have Sentinel working without problems both reading and writing to the the x36 radios. Additionally I have the PSR-800 EZScan software up and running as well. Prior to this, I was using CrossOver and / or WineBottler to run Sentinel and EZScan but I could not access the radios. I have not tried Parallels and I am not interested in using Bootcamp as it requires a dedicated partition on my hard drive.
Sponsored links
  #56 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 2:29 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Default

I was able to install the program without any problems, but when I plug my USB into my mac, the program is not able to find my card when I hit the refresh button?

Any suggestions?

Thanks
  #57 (permalink)  
Old 02-05-2014, 3:29 PM
gonzalu's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 357
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nr2d View Post
I notice on my iMac that when I download or copy from it and read them in my Windows machine, the iMac creates several extra files, .trash and several more. When you run your Windows on the Mac does it also create these extra files?

Yes, the files are written by MacOS... no matter how your Mac touches a folder, whether directly attached storage or via shared SBM or CIFS, it will write them.

A tip to those who care about such things.

Mavericks introduced support for SMB 2 protocol but it is written by Apple and it is buggy. It will give lots of problems. To force SMB1 you must use CIFS:// when mounting remote shares via SMB. CIFS will use the older driver which is much cleaner.
__________________
Manny, N2MAV - Amateur Extra
BCD536HP, BCD996XT, HomePatrol, BC125AT, PCR1000, PRO-2042, OS-535
First Scanner: Realistic PRO-24
  #58 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2014, 5:36 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto ON & New Smyrna Beach FL
Posts: 21
Default SENTINAL FINALLY WORKING ON MAC (So Far!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by testdummy View Post
Just a tidbit of info on this subject.

I've been using Parallels and Windows XP successfully with an HP1 thru USB for the last couple of years. Today I used it for the first time since upgrading to Mavericks (and maybe the first time since upgrading to Parallels 9). On initial hookup via USB, Sentinel for HP would not see the card. Windows would recognize that a drive was there but couldn't read it. I eventually pulled the card, put it in an SD carrier and formatted it using OSX Disk Utility with it in the iMac's card slot. Back in the HP1, Sentinel would see it (had x's for the device ID) thru Parallels and USB - sent a clean new DB download to the card and all is well for now (Device ID (ESN?) now showing on the card info window). Made several back and forth saves making tweaks to my Favorites lists with no further issues.

Don't know what this means for Sentinel for x36, but fwiw... I should have a 536 in a few days and have my fingers crossed.

Ron
I just tried essentially what is described above. Bought 4GB MicroSDHC Card and carrier from Best Buy (PNY $9.99) and formatted it for Windows using the Disk Utility on OSX Mavericks, following all the steps outlined in Mavericks Dick Utility. Replaced the BCD436HP's MicroSD card with the newly formatted card and connected it to my computer with the supplied USB cable. Followed the instructions on Sentinal to remove user data from the Micro Card. Then copied my Sentinal data to the scanner and also updated the firmware on the scanner.

All so far seems to result in my computer seeing my scanner through the USB cable, and Sentinal updating the data, favourite lists and firmware, etc. as one would hope and expect. CHEERS!
  #59 (permalink)  
Old 02-06-2014, 6:07 PM
MacGnG's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: MD, USA
Posts: 39
Default

Previously: VMware Fusion running WIN7. Already had Sentinal installed. updated DB yesterday and set up some favorites.

Today: got my 436 scanner. backed up the 4GB card in OSX. Copied files to a 16GB card. Used 16GB card in scanner. Scanner works.

Next: Ran VM, Opened Sentinal, used card reader for 16GB card, opened it in Windows. Sentinal sees 16GB card, Updated DB. (didn't update firmware), put card back in scanner.

IT WORKS!

I haven't tried plugging the scanner directly into my mac yet, but I don't have a problem with just using the MicroSD and a card reader.

On the next release of the firmware i will try an update, once there is an update log with changes.

THANKS EVERYONE, Hope this helps someone.
  #60 (permalink)  
Old 02-07-2014, 12:05 PM
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Laurel, MD
Posts: 2
Thumbs up Thanks for the Mac solution

I want to profusely thank the gentlemen who figured out how to get the BCD436HP to communicate via USB with Sentinel on a Mac. I had been tearing my hair out trying to get it to work using a Mac with Mavericks running XP via VirtualBox. I could write the firmware and database to the card via a card reader, but once the card was re-inserted in the BCD436HP and cable attached, the radio worked with the updates, but it was not recognized by Sentinel (despite being seen by XP). Was getting ready to get download or buy new software until someone recommended reformatting the card, then writing the firmware, etc. to it. Bingo!

73
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 2:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions