RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Scanners and Receivers Forums > Uniden Forums > Uniden Thread Archives

Uniden Thread Archives A depository of archived threads from the original Uniden forum.

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #221 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 9:31 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 39
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RickSuthers View Post
I received my 436 from Hamstation on Wednesday (Man is he fast!)- however, when I plugged it into my Windows 7 computer to update the firmware, I got an error message on saying the card needed to be formatted. Well, I had another SD card so I gave that a try by formatting, then clearing user data, then updating the data, etc. All worked great. I took the device in the field on Thursday... bring it home to update some favs - and sure enough now this card won't read. I try on a Windows 8 machine and it says there is something wrong with the device, etc (Windows 8 error). So I swap cables, swap cards and this just repeats.

2 diff cards
2 diff cables

Same results. Now I have to figure out how to exchange this with Hamstation (my project today).
Can this help? http://forums.radioreference.com/uni...ror-536hp.html
__________________
Patrick
North Jersey
BCD436HP/ BC125AT
Sponsored links
  #222 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 9:51 AM
wise871's Avatar
FL, GA, AL, MS Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.W. Florida
Posts: 2,484
Default

I don't think exchanging it is going to solve the problem. There are a bunch of reports on this happening.
__________________
Dan M
BCD436HP /BCD536HP /BCD396XT /BCD996T(XT) /BCT15X /PRO-197 /PRO-106 /PSR-410 /HP-1 /BC898T
  #223 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 10:05 AM
whsbuss's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SE Pa
Posts: 485
Default First setup

All this talk of batteries..... I do have an external battery charger and my question what's the best way to setup the 436 for the first time? Should I charge the batteries first or get the 436 up and running via USB->PC via Sentinal?
  #224 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 10:08 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 207
Default

I recall seeing something about a delay on the front end of radio traffic, like there is a slight delay...I've been bouncing between threads about this scanner. I was wondering if the delay is because of CTCSS/DCS being turned on instead of Analog All. Maybe combined with the recording? Causing a slight delay resulting in front-clipping...Just throwing that out there...I'm curious about it. Still waiting for mine.
__________________
Relm HS200, BCD396XT, HP-1E, BCD436HP
  #225 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 10:15 AM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York,N.Y.
Posts: 12
Angry BCD536&436HP

Does not have control Channel only mode in custom search.Not good!
Sponsored links
  #226 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 11:55 AM
dtscho's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,288
Default

BCD436HP First Impressions/Notes:

DC Scanning
  #227 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 12:02 PM
N9TZO's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Elgin, IL
Posts: 12
Default

I had the same SD card error when trying to connect my 436hp to a different computer. It said the card needed to be formatted. I downloaded the SD card formatter from https://www.sdcard.org/downloads/formatter_4 and ran it to format the card. It took Windows a few minutes to get the process to run, it kept saying "not responding". Just bear with it and click format in the tool and wait for the popup boxes to complete the entire process. This might take 5 minutes. Once done run the CLEAR USER DATA from the SCANNER menu and select show all drives to see the newly formatted card. I then ran the UPDATE FIRMWARE and the wrote the favorites and full database back to the scanner and was back in business.

The bottom line was that out of the box the SD card was formatted as RAW for some reason. After using the SD Formatting tool it is now FAT32.

Sentinel software now works with the scanner on my Windows 7 workstation and running Windows 7 in Parallels Desktop on my MacBook Pro.
  #228 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 12:06 PM
wise871's Avatar
FL, GA, AL, MS Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.W. Florida
Posts: 2,484
Default BCD436HP Post Release

Same issue here. I just stuck in a freshly formatted card and I'm up and running.
__________________
Dan M
BCD436HP /BCD536HP /BCD396XT /BCD996T(XT) /BCT15X /PRO-197 /PRO-106 /PSR-410 /HP-1 /BC898T
  #229 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 12:49 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Doylestown, Pa
Posts: 104
Smile turning off nationwide systems

Hi all,
I've been reading this post & have ALMOST decided to order a 436.
Trunker, I experimented in Sentinel & here is what I see;
1) go to USA database
2) Go to the first State
3) Go to the first County
4) Go to nationwide systems
5) Go to the right side column & right click on "avoid"
6) when the box opens up click on "select all"
7) right click again & click "set avoid"

All nation wide systems in all states & counties will be set to avoid & will be saved that way when you close Sentinel.
If you want one particular system turned back on just right click on that one line and click"clear avoid" to listen to just that i.e Civil Air Patrol or whatever.

Hope this helps,Bob
Sponsored links
  #230 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 12:49 PM
Dafe1er's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Off in a far away place, far from u.......
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtscho View Post
BCD436HP First Impressions/Notes:

DC Scanning
Thank you for this. I have been waiting for someone in the area to tell me how Stafford is. Is there a way for you to make a video post giving us a taste of how it is? Now I wonder how it does in Loudoun!

How does it do for STARS?
__________________
I am just a Novice, compared to some here. I am willing to learn and once know what has been taught to me, will help others know this awesome hobby of ours.
  #231 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 12:51 PM
mrkelso's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NNJ
Posts: 1,058
Default Tha Ham Station Rocks!!

Weird, I had to copy the contents of the micro-SD card using a reader to a folder on my desktop. After ejecting it and placing it back into the Scanner, everything was fine and the computer found it. Hmmm!!
Attached Images
 
  #232 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 1:14 PM
Dafe1er's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Off in a far away place, far from u.......
Posts: 559
Default

Put your hand up to the photo of the 436 and it is life like! Nice shot mrkelso!
__________________
I am just a Novice, compared to some here. I am willing to learn and once know what has been taught to me, will help others know this awesome hobby of ours.
  #233 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 1:33 PM
Tom_G's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Newington, CT
Posts: 807
Default

Do you think the audio is louder on the 436?

Same as the 396 ?
Thanks,
__________________
Tom/G, N1VVD
Radio Shack PRO-97, GE MPA and MVS
  #234 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 1:46 PM
mrkelso's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NNJ
Posts: 1,058
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tom_G View Post
Do you think the audio is louder on the 436?

Same as the 396 ?
Thanks,
Yes
  #235 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 1:58 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hackettstown, NJ
Posts: 139
Default A Few Complaints..

So im 10 mins into using my 436hp and have a few complaints as outlined below..

1. Wheres the USB power plug?
I do not understand why uniden didn't provide a USB power plug with the unit. After all its a $500 scanner and the last thing i want to have to do is go out and buy a power plug to connect the scanner to.

2. The batteries do not charge while the unit is plugged in and in use?
Whats the point of this? Every single USB driven device i have eve used has charged while the unit was plugged in and in use. I do not want to have to sit there with dead batteries and watch it charge and not be able to use it. Very weird

3. Wheres the metal backing for the belt clip?
The use of a plastic backing for the belt clip has boggled my mind. $500 Unit being secured by a plastic backing instead of the past used metal backing doesn't make any sense. Now i worry about it potentially cracking and the scanner falling to the ground off the belt clip.

Although these are some drawbacks, the scanner is a beast and thats my opinion only after 10 mins of use. Maybe Upman can chime in on these concerns.
__________________
BNN NJATF -- North Jersey BC 996XT | BCT 15X | BC 396XT | BC 346XT | BC 780XLT | Pro 96 | RS Pro 405 | Pro 135 | PRO 2050

Last edited by Coolant113; 01-31-2014 at 2:01 PM.. Reason: Spelling
Sponsored links
  #236 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 2:03 PM
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Default

All the items you listed cut the BOM costs down, including skimping on a proper charging / power management IC to allow for charging while operating the radio.

If you don't like it, return the radio. At this point, I don't see them changing any of the items you listed in a production model!

But I do agree with all your points!

Last edited by OFDM; 01-31-2014 at 2:06 PM..
  #237 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 2:06 PM
KC0CSE's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: KANSAS CITY NORTH....
Posts: 714
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by OFDM View Post
All the items you listed cut the BOM costs down, including skimping on a proper charging / power management IC to allow for charging while operating the radio.

If you don't like it, return the radio. At this point, I don't see them changing any of the items you listed in a production model!
A little brutal don't you think?...I believe he has a point...if your going to pay $600 for a scanner than give me $600 dollars worth of scanner...don't charge me for extras!! ...

Last edited by KC0CSE; 01-31-2014 at 2:08 PM..
  #238 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 2:08 PM
wise871's Avatar
FL, GA, AL, MS Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: N.W. Florida
Posts: 2,484
Default

My 436 finally made it in and it found it's new secondary home.
Attached Images
  
__________________
Dan M
BCD436HP /BCD536HP /BCD396XT /BCD996T(XT) /BCT15X /PRO-197 /PRO-106 /PSR-410 /HP-1 /BC898T
  #239 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 2:10 PM
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KC0CSE View Post
A little brutal don't you think?...I believe he has a point...if your going to pay $600 for a scanner than give me $600 dollars worth of scanner...don't charge me for extras!! ...
Business is brutal.. Without competition, only the consumer loses, as you can see.
  #240 (permalink)  
Old 01-31-2014, 2:12 PM
Completely Banned for the Greater Good
   
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 33
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wise871 View Post
My 436 finally made it in and it found it's new secondary home.
Looks good, is the mount something you made or did you buy it?

ME
 

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 5:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions