RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Virginia Radio Discussion Forum

Virginia Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Virginia.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 08-31-2010, 6:57 PM
tractoriden1's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: mechanicsville va..
Posts: 5
Default

could someone enlighten me on what or where to find the new hanover frequencies and what steps to put them back in a pro96. i have been messing with different trunk modes , but i just cant seem to make it work. thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2010, 1:07 PM
c5corvette's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: *REBANDED*
Posts: 702
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W4UVV View Post
First a question. If Hanover Co. has switched to 100% to P25 why now am I receiving talkgroups 04-021 and 02-104 i.e., "Back in the county" on their EDACS system?

I am located in Prince George using a 996XT and have tower mounted mast mounted preamped mostly Scantennas. The EDACS CC is 4 of 5 bars signal strength and the P25 CC is 5 bars.

After making your recommended menu changes I still am experiencing choppy audio. I tried different value entries up to "99". I left it on "83" and "400ms" P25 wait time. The audio appears about 90% chop free here but not optimized. Additionally I tried changing P25 Wait times with no improvement only making reception worse. Using NFM or FM mode made no difference. I am 20+ air miles from Hanover and do not have a multi-path distortion signal issue.

This audio chopping reminds me of the same reception problem when the Hopewell trs first became operational. At that time I was using a 796D scanner. Part of resolution was manually adjusting the P25 decode threshold level. In part that is what we are trying to do here. Currently my 996XT is set to "Auto". I want to be able to manually adjust it as shown in the Wiki table for "Setting the P25 Decode Level for the BCD396T and BCD996T". The 996XT dynamic table values display a range from "7-13". Unless I am misunderstanding something this setting should be changeable by the user. I can access the dynamic screen table display by pressing "FUNC" and the "Volume" control but I cannot remember what the required user entry for this hidden menu is to enter the "Manual" mode for selecting another value. Pressing the Func control twice does not work on the 996XT to access the "Manual" mode. The default settings are "8" and "Auto". With my 796D and 996T I found "7" and "Manual" to be better settings. These adjustments also were in hidden menus. The Butel ARC996T software had a user option to select "Manual" and change to a different value setting but the Butel ARC996XT software does not have this option. If anyone knows the keyboard entry(s) to access the "Manual" adjustment mode please post it.

The Sheriff's Office dispatch talkgroup chops worse than the Fire Dept. here.
Three things...

If you are 100% sure you do not have a multi-path distortion signal issue then dont bother messing with the NFM / FM setting that part wont matter. (And please don't argue with my that this setting shouldnt matter because of how Uniden built the scacnner - it does indeed seem to work for those experiencing multi-path issues.)

If you are not having a multi-path issue you will just have to adjust the p25 settings anywhere from 50-200 until you find what you like. If you are having multi-path issues, only use the settings I suggested.

The XT models don't have the same menu or settings as the T models. Essentially you cannot manually adjust and XT model as shown in the Wiki table for "Setting the P25 Decode Level for the BCD396T and BCD996T". The only settings you have are the ones I described.

Other than this - I cannot help.

Also, I cannot help for GRE or RS models - I don't own one of those. Perhaps someone with those models (can experiment with similar tweaks and tell people how to do the same thing I am doing on the Unidens.)
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 09-02-2010, 2:31 PM
W4UVV's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Prince George, Virginia--Central Va.
Posts: 1,094
Unhappy Common "Pure" APCO P25 trs characteristic

Quote:
Originally Posted by c5corvette View Post
Three things...

If you are 100% sure you do not have a multi-path distortion signal issue then dont bother messing with the NFM / FM setting that part wont matter. (And please don't argue with my that this setting shouldnt matter because of how Uniden built the scacnner - it does indeed seem to work for those experiencing multi-path issues.)

If you are not having a multi-path issue you will just have to adjust the p25 settings anywhere from 50-200 until you find what you like. If you are having multi-path issues, only use the settings I suggested.

The XT models don't have the same menu or settings as the T models. Essentially you cannot manually adjust and XT model as shown in the Wiki table for "Setting the P25 Decode Level for the BCD396T and BCD996T". The only settings you have are the ones I described.

Other than this - I cannot help.

Also, I cannot help for GRE or RS models - I don't own one of those. Perhaps someone with those models (can experiment with similar tweaks and tell people how to do the same thing I am doing on the Unidens.)
I am beginning to suspect that chopped audio is common characteristic of "pure" APCO P25 trs signals regardless of scanner model. I'll try again but the 996XT threshold adjust levels range only from 50 to 99.
Tnx.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2010, 3:16 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Mechanicsville
Posts: 3
Red face someone to program my Bcd 396xt

Anyone live in Hanover Co, Va that could program my Bcd396xt and maybe show me how to use it. I am not smart at all when it comes to electronics. Please......

Thanks Tracy.
ki4shj
tnrbrooks@comcast.net
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2010, 8:31 PM
tractoriden1's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: mechanicsville va..
Posts: 5
Question programming help

I am in the same boat tracy, i cannot get my pro 96 to program correct for the new hanover stuff and i am sending out an s.o.s. to anyone the hanover area who can contact me and provide me some quality mentoring. Tractoriden1@aol.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 11-02-2010, 3:14 PM
W4UVV's Avatar
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Prince George, Virginia--Central Va.
Posts: 1,094
Unhappy Bogus trs frequency

The RR database shows "851.00625" mhz. is one of the trs frequencies. That is a bogus frequency. I do not know the correct frequency but my guess it should be "851.0625".
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2011, 10:37 PM
dynamitedjs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richmond, Va. (Mechanicsville)
Posts: 408
Default

I'm getting an xt in a few days and I'm in Hanover. Let you know what I figure out.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2011, 2:27 PM
dynamitedjs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richmond, Va. (Mechanicsville)
Posts: 408
Default

Just got it today, Right out of the package and uploaded Hanover in a matter of 15 minutes. Sounds fine to me.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2011, 4:31 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hanover County, VA
Posts: 279
Default

If I stay put in my house, my results a normally very good. It's when mobile that I have the most issues.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2011, 2:12 PM
dynamitedjs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richmond, Va. (Mechanicsville)
Posts: 408
Default

I don't have that problem at all. Once in a while dispatch on 1 will be a little choppy. I saw the tweak posted on page one of this thread but can't figure how to get there. I bought this antenna because I think the one that comes with the radio is a tad too long. http://i74.photobucket.com/albums/i2...5/P1040145.jpg

I guess also I can't set emergency alerts on Hanover SD or Stars VSP because it doesn't come up in the menu like Henrico, Richmond and Ches.menus do.
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2011, 2:21 PM
dynamitedjs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richmond, Va. (Mechanicsville)
Posts: 408
Default

Received the antenna today. It's better than the factory antenna. No more choppy on dispatch as I occasionally had.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2011, 6:25 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hanover County, VA
Posts: 279
Default

I might have to check out that antenna.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 03-09-2011, 10:57 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Charlottesville
Posts: 2,073
Default

jehm, did you say what it was and I missed it? I have similar problems with choppy audio caused by multi-site simulcast. It sure is a good looking antenna!
__________________
"Freedom has ceased to be a birthright; it has come to mean whatever we are still permitted to do." Joe Sobran
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 03-11-2011, 10:12 AM
dtscho's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,303
Default

Anyone know what talkgroup 2351 is used for? It falls in the schools range. It was active yesterday evening after-hours, so maybe school security?

Thanks,
Dave
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 03-21-2011, 3:53 PM
dynamitedjs's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Richmond, Va. (Mechanicsville)
Posts: 408
Default

However, this antenna does not do well on Stars riding down the road. Stationary it's fine.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2011, 8:20 AM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 60
Default 158.76 P25 Link

I noticed yesterday that Hanover is using 158.76 as a P25 Link for their FD/EMS and it certainly sounds better with their tones!! Might be a test so I will keep watching.
__________________
www.kc4asf.org
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 03-31-2011, 10:57 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 14
Default

for years 158.76 was the freq for the fire pagers used for station alerting and volunteers. are you saying they've converted it to P25? or is it just a simulcast of dispatch that sounds P25-esk because of a patch?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions