RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Virginia Radio Discussion Forum


Virginia Radio Discussion Forum - Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Virginia.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2013, 8:13 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: spotsylvania
Posts: 13
Default Can't hear Spotsy fire and rescue on primary

Hi, up until about a month or 2 ago I could hear spotsy fire and rescue on the primary channel. All of a sudden I noticed I wasn't hearing any tones or traffic anymore. I can still hear channel 2 etc along with fire admin. I thought I might have accidentally locked out the channel, but when driving toward the courthouse and Cosner's Corner area, it comes in. Just curious, I live in the Lake Anna area if that makes any difference.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2013, 8:58 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Colorado Springs CO
Posts: 379
Smile Spotsy Fire EMS

At this moment, dispatch on the 800 system as well as the 156.195 pager channel is working just fine.

They have been having issues with the system from time to time including the whole system going down.

Last edited by radio; 01-17-2013 at 9:03 PM.. Reason: Revise content
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2013, 9:12 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: spotsylvania
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks for the reply!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2013, 8:28 PM
fredva's Avatar
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Virginia/West Virginia
Posts: 1,268
Default

The only possible explanation I can think of is that somehow, the tower in your area isn't broadcasting the channel 1 talkgroup and when you move to another area of the county, you pick up the talkgroup from another tower. That would be odd though. I'm not sure it's possible for a tower to essentially "lock out" a specific talkgroup.

How is your recepton of the 156.195 simulcast? That would be the substitute for channel 1 on the 800 mhz system.
__________________
Mike
PRO-18 upgraded to a WS-1080, PRO-197, PRO-2020, PRO-2021, 436HP, Raspberry Pi SDR
Fire & EMS feeds: http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/527 & http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/3331
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-18-2013, 9:21 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: spotsylvania
Posts: 13
Default

Hmm, well I just dug out my OLD scanner and it seems to be picking it up just fine. I've probably done something weird with the other one. The fact that I programmed it and pick anything up is a miracle. It's a pro 528. It's just odd that I can pick it up when I get closer into town from the lake. When I do pick it up then, there is alot of static. Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 1:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2015 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions