RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Virginia Radio Discussion Forum

Virginia Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Virginia.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-26-2014, 10:29 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,011
Default New STARS site

Thanks to a mention of QRM from a nearby ham, it turns out that we have a new STARS site on the VSP Division 1 tower near the intersection of US1 and I-295.

CC is 152.7575, alt. 152.6075 and the site # appears to be 129. It's not a very high site, so it may just be a filler in terms of coverage. Voice freqs include 152.2025 and 152.1575. Almost all traffic heard on was on TG's 1, 3, & 5280.

Good for my QTH, though.

73/Allen (N4JRI)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 10:39 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 135
Default

It's actually 152.755.

Edit: I looked in the scanner further, and get a signal on both channels but stronger and clearer comms off *.7575

Last edited by NS9710; 01-27-2014 at 10:44 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 10:45 AM
KF4ZTO's Avatar
Member
  Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 472
Default

Barely hearing it on my Pro-96 with the stock rubber duck (in downtown Richmond) on 152.7575
__________________
Focus on high-HF and VHF (25-30, 30-50, and 136-174 MHz scanning and monitoring).

-List all my radios here, etc.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 2:15 PM
W4UVV's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Prince George, Virginia--Central Va.
Posts: 1,006
Smile STARS Site 129 Info

STARS Site 129 is loud and clear in Prince George...5 bars on my 996XT...88% signal decode. Shown below is about 15 minutes of Pro96com monitoring. I am about 22 air miles from the STARS Midlothian site. As I have posted several times before on the forum the surest way to confirm the actual site frequencies being used is to run Pro96com.

John

W4UVV

Last edited by W4UVV; 04-17-2014 at 9:45 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 5:52 PM
dtscho's Avatar
Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 1,249
Default

I have a document that seems to indicate that this site may be called "Division 1 Dispatch." What do you guys think - good name?

Dave
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-27-2014, 6:18 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtscho View Post
I have a document that seems to indicate that this site may be called "Division 1 Dispatch." What do you guys think - good name?

Dave
That sounds more like a TG name than a tower-site-name, to me. But, if that's how the document describes it, then sure, why not?
__________________
73 QDP
[106/2SRA]

Last edited by QDP2012; 01-27-2014 at 6:25 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-28-2014, 8:21 AM
W4UVV's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Prince George, Virginia--Central Va.
Posts: 1,006
Smile I too think it needs a new name

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtscho View Post
I have a document that seems to indicate that this site may be called "Division 1 Dispatch." What do you guys think - good name?

Dave
When updating my scanners yesterday I thought a new site name other than "Richmond" or "Richmond-129"" would be helpful. I used "Midlothian" as it was more descriptive as to the geographical site info and less confusing than having a second "Richmond" in the name of another site id within the same division. Alpha tag sizes in most scanners usually are limited to 16 characters.

John

.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2014, 12:42 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,011
Default

I believe it's in the Glen Allen zip code. BTW, getting 5 bars on my PSR-500 from outer Mechanicsville.

73/Allen (N4JRI)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2014, 7:56 AM
W4UVV's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Prince George, Virginia--Central Va.
Posts: 1,006
Smile Why a "gap filler" STARS trs in Richmond?

Quote:
Originally Posted by n4jri View Post
I believe it's in the Glen Allen zip code. BTW, getting 5 bars on my PSR-500 from outer Mechanicsville.

73/Allen (N4JRI)
Allen,

I find it odd that a "gap filler" STARS site is needed for the inner Richmond area. My strongest CC S meter reading using a R7000 with "ATT" selected and selectable tower mounted rotatable Scantennas is from the NNE direction. Scantennas are only slightly directional so that may not mean much.

Could this be a "gap filler" site to enhance STARS I95 comms between Richmond & Thornburg? If so where is the new or existing tower which should be located on state owned property?

Have you tested reception when mobile in different directions monitoring only the CC with the HT antenna removed with "ATT" selected to possibly better isolate the CC transmitting source area?

John
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2014, 9:19 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Charlottesville
Posts: 2,065
Default

State Police had an area office there many years ago. I haven't been that way in years but you might assume that's where it is. It was actually there before 295 was built. Glen Allen would be a good name. If it is a "fill-in" it could be for the same reason cellular has of adding capacity not necessarily adding "coverage".
__________________
"Freedom has ceased to be a birthright; it has come to mean whatever we are still permitted to do." Joe Sobran
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2014, 12:44 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Richmond, VA
Posts: 1,011
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by W4UVV View Post
Allen,

I find it odd that a "gap filler" STARS site is needed for the inner Richmond area. My strongest CC S meter reading using a R7000 with "ATT" selected and selectable tower mounted rotatable Scantennas is from the NNE direction. Scantennas are only slightly directional so that may not mean much.

Could this be a "gap filler" site to enhance STARS I95 comms between Richmond & Thornburg? If so where is the new or existing tower which should be located on state owned property?

Have you tested reception when mobile in different directions monitoring only the CC with the HT antenna removed with "ATT" selected to possibly better isolate the CC transmitting source area?

John
They've got property and the tower. Division 1 HQ is at the corner of US1 and New York Ave. (a bit south of the older version) They've got a tower with three shiny new high band arrays, pretty typical for a STARS site. I was alerted to the situation by a ham friend in the area, who's having the CC affect his ability to access the 145.43 repeater.

And the filler is welcome...SPHQ is weak at my QTH near the Henrico Courthouse. In Ashland (at the Truckstop, specifically) the handheld will constantly shift between SPHQ, Louisa, Thornburg and possibly Rumford. (it was my favorite spot for testing the multisite settings)

The capacity idea is interesting. SPHQ has a lot of freqs now, and carries traffic for a lot of distant areas. This new site (which I had hoped was just a satellite) is fairly quiet. But, I can get it on the handheld in my easy chair...

73/Allen (N4JRI)
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2014, 12:52 PM
W4UVV's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Prince George, Virginia--Central Va.
Posts: 1,006
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by n4jri View Post
They've got property and the tower. Division 1 HQ is at the corner of US1 and New York Ave. (a bit south of the older version) They've got a tower with three shiny new high band arrays, pretty typical for a STARS site. I was alerted to the situation by a ham friend in the area, who's having the CC affect his ability to access the 145.43 repeater.

And the filler is welcome...SPHQ is weak at my QTH near the Henrico Courthouse. In Ashland (at the Truckstop, specifically) the handheld will constantly shift between SPHQ, Louisa, Thornburg and possibly Rumford. (it was my favorite spot for testing the multisite settings)

The capacity idea is interesting. SPHQ has a lot of freqs now, and carries traffic for a lot of distant areas. This new site (which I had hoped was just a satellite) is fairly quiet. But, I can get it on the handheld in my easy chair...

73/Allen (N4JRI)
Ok. Very good. I'll rename my scanner's Div 1 site 129 name to "Glen Allen". Tnx.

John
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 7:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions