DSD+ and Unitrunker Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

scantopeka

I'm new to SDR and I've been trying to monitor my local P25 system. I've got two SDR dongles and Unitrunker is tracking the system and following the voice channels with the other dongle.

Unfortunately that's it, I can't get any voice traffic at all. I'm using the free virtual A/V cable but DSD is not playing any audio and does not appear to be decoding the P25 voice. It's possible I don't have the audio channels routed correctly, or it could be the voice signal is too weak to decode. Any suggestions?

Last edited:

SCPD

QRT
If DSD won't work for you, try DSD+.

First thing is to make sure discriminator audio is actually making it to DSD(+).

DSD+ has an integrated oscilloscope. If you're using DSD, run UniScope and point it at the same virtual audio path as DSD (they can share the same device) to see the wave form.

scantopeka

I'm using DSD+ and the built in scope is showing the voice signal for the voice channel.

I haven't tried DSD because I read it doesn't do as well with weak signals.

SCPD

QRT
Good. Make sure your correction value for the voice following receiver is as dead-center as possible.

An easy way to tell if you are off-center (without the benefit of a waterfall display), is to select the scope tab and click the start button while watching the waveform. If the waveform starts off high before settling on the middle of the scope window, the real signal is above (higher in frequency) which means your correction value is too low. If the waveform starts off low before settling in the middle, the real signal is below (lower in frequency) which means your correction value is too high. Stop the receiver, adjust the warp value, and repeat the process until the waveform stays centered vertically in the 'scope tab.

scantopeka