RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Washington Radio Discussion Forum

Washington Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Washington.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 1:26 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,122
Default

OK here we go after running unitrunker all night on the new East control channel I get this, at this point I will start running a 2ND computer and scanner on this. but here is what I have so far, dint hammer me for this.

This is what the program is reporting.

853.36250 voice
853.58750 Control
863.66250 voice
867.91250 voice
868.38750 voice

Peer sites are 1,4,5 and 6
And yes the program was running in the rebanded mode.
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com

Last edited by lowboy654; 08-22-2014 at 1:32 PM..
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 2:25 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,122
Default

Now east is back on there old stuff
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 3:03 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,122
Default

Back to the new, the best bet here is to have your scanner set to run both. good thing I have about 10 here.
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 4:23 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 2,276
Cool

I think someone is just making your life difficult Ken!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 4:41 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,122
Default

I am having fun here, things in this area have been the same for years, toys all over the desk top, I for one, vote for a change every two weeks.
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #26 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 9:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Renton/Seattle, King County, WA
Posts: 154
Default

Speaking of rebanding, those with the Uniden XTs, here's a quick reminder:

Band Plan 1
Lower Base = 851.025
Upper Base = 854.000
Offset = 440+
Spacing = 25 KHz

Band Plan 2
Loswer Base = 851.0125
Upper Base = 868.9875
Offset = 0
Spacing = 25 KHz

You gotta do this to EVERY site you have programmed.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 11:13 PM
FFSOD7189's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Band Plans

Scannerizer makes an interesting comment above. I understand that rebanding maybe more or less complicated depending on the System. I own a Uniden BCT15X with updated firmware and all I did was enter the new frequencies and can hear everything. Will I need to do more in the futue like setting up a custom band plan or setting up Band Plan 1 and Band Plan 2 ?
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2014, 11:17 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,122
Default

The Wiki here can be very helpful I would think that you olny need look there.
for the best info on this. yup its there.

BCT15X - The RadioReference Wiki

Here is the main link for the rest of you.

http://wiki.radioreference.com/index...y:Radio_Models
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 8:45 AM
DickH's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,486
Default

REBANDING

Motorola trunked systems do not use frequencies in the data stream sent by the control channel. They use channel numbers. The channel numbers for the 851-854 range are 1 to 120 with .025MHz spacing (851.0125, 851.0375, etc.)

Re-banding requires changing the freqs. in the 866 to 868 range to the 851 to 854 range by subtracting 15MHz. Freqs. with a 5 in the 4th decimal place fall into the existing 1-120 channel numbers. BUT freqs. with a zero in that 4th place do not have a corresponding channel number in the 1-120 range. So Motorola "borrowed" channel numbers 440 to 559 to use for those freqs. To be able to hear those new freqs., the scanner firmware needs to have Custom Band Plans (or tables) put in that adds channels 440 to 559 for freqs. 851.0250 to 854.0000 with .025MHz spacing.

These are the resulting channel numbers and freqs.:
Ch.# FREQ.
1----851.0125
440-851.0250
2----851.0375
441-851.0500
3----851.0625
442-851.0750
- - - etc. - - -

Rule of thumb.
If all the rebanded freqs. have a 5 in the 4th decimal place (like 851.0125) you do not need custom tables.
If any rebanded freqs. have a zero in the 4th decimal place (like 851.0250) the scanner needs custom tables to be able to track it.
__________________
Dick H
http://dickh.zenfolio.com
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #30 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 12:39 PM
FFSOD7189's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default Band Plans

Update, today when I got home I noticed that my scanner was once again silent, I had the new Freq. entered and was getting all TG. So I opened up FreeScan and connected it to the scanner and it recognized my site as a Custom Plan and that is where I entered Band Plan 1 andBand Plan 2 info. Bingo the scanner is now talking again.
Reply With Quote
  #31 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 4:47 PM
lowboy654's Avatar
DB Admin Member
  RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Northwest, WA
Posts: 2,122
Default

Ok I made the changes to.
Snohomish County Emergency Radio (SERS) Trunking System, Everett, Washington - Scanner Frequencies

I added the control channels and the alternate control channels. removed site 2 and I will remove sites 104 and 104 as they are not right, SERS calls there sites gold hill, deer creek and king lake I need to fix the site names for 4,5 and 6. here is a link to the SERS page.
Snohomish County Emergency Radio System

Here is a tower map.
WPYR879 (SNOHOMISH COUNTY EMERGENCY RADIO SYSTEM (SERS)) FCC Callsign Details
I could use some help here in getting some of the sites named right.

Thanks, Ken
__________________
If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.
Ken
Data Admin
lowboy654@radioreference.com
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2014, 6:00 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Renton/Seattle, King County, WA
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFSOD7189 View Post
Scannerizer makes an interesting comment above. I understand that rebanding maybe more or less complicated depending on the System. I own a Uniden BCT15X with updated firmware and all I did was enter the new frequencies and can hear everything. Will I need to do more in the futue like setting up a custom band plan or setting up Band Plan 1 and Band Plan 2 ?
Scanners are different and as I don't have that particular model, I can't say. I wouldn't be surprised though.

I actually learned a lot of scanning lessons the hard way. I discovered this when I went down the I5 corridor to Salem and realized I couldn't get the fire department, Keizer PD, or any Portland area stuff I used to be able to get on my PRO 164.
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2014, 12:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Renton/Seattle, King County, WA
Posts: 154
Default

UPDATE was up north last night with the new CCs programmed into my radio and it looks as if the SERS system has completely rebanded. Had no problems.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2014, 6:03 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 2,276
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFSOD7189 View Post
Scannerizer makes an interesting comment above. I understand that rebanding maybe more or less complicated depending on the System. I own a Uniden BCT15X with updated firmware and all I did was enter the new frequencies and can hear everything. Will I need to do more in the futue like setting up a custom band plan or setting up Band Plan 1 and Band Plan 2 ?
I don't know what he's talking about. My 396xt and 996xt work just fine.
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2014, 6:05 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 2,276
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowboy654 View Post
Ok I made the changes to.
Snohomish County Emergency Radio (SERS) Trunking System, Everett, Washington - Scanner Frequencies

I added the control channels and the alternate control channels. removed site 2 and I will remove sites 104 and 104 as they are not right, SERS calls there sites gold hill, deer creek and king lake I need to fix the site names for 4,5 and 6. here is a link to the SERS page.
Snohomish County Emergency Radio System
Thanks Ken for the work on this. I was up there on Saturday and did some snooping on the East/West systems and got pretty much everything you did. I also found Site 2 but I think it's just a test-only site. My data matches yours...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #36 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2014, 9:10 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Renton/Seattle, King County, WA
Posts: 154
Default

I think as far as the XT scanners it depends on the systems. Not every system I've monitored required it like the Clark County system, but many do. I always enter those 2 band plans just in case so I don't wonder why I can't receive them.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2014, 9:23 PM
Member
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 2,276
Cool

Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerizer View Post
I think as far as the XT scanners it depends on the systems. Not every system I've monitored required it like the Clark County system, but many do. I always enter those 2 band plans just in case so I don't wonder why I can't receive them.
I believe as long you have the latest firmware on the XT scanners, you should be fine. You're just inputting the control channel(s) and that's it. The CC can do all of the work provided the firmware has been updated.
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old 08-24-2014, 10:54 PM
FFSOD7189's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 60
Default

It might be confusing to a XT owner because installing the latest Firmware for the XT is what puts that Band Plan option in the scanner.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old 08-25-2014, 11:16 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Renton/Seattle, King County, WA
Posts: 154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FFSOD7189 View Post
It might be confusing to a XT owner because installing the latest Firmware for the XT is what puts that Band Plan option in the scanner.
I saw in the Easier-to-Read manual that setting the two band plans is required for rebanded systems.
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old 08-26-2014, 12:42 AM
DickH's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scannerizer View Post
I saw in the Easier-to-Read manual that setting the two band plans is required for rebanded systems.
Yes. It's explained in detail in my post two days ago.
__________________
Dick H
http://dickh.zenfolio.com
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
snohomish county sers

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 4:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions