RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > West Virginia Radio Discussion Forum

West Virginia Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of West Virginia.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2014, 3:06 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Point Pleasant,WV
Posts: 18
Default Pro 197

I'm using the Search PubSafety for 911 in Mason County. My problem is Ripley School buses comes on the same channel as 911-460.0625. They use the same tower,too. If I lock out the school bus channel, wll my Mason County 911 be locked out also.

Curtis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2014, 4:38 PM
Bubba1661's Avatar
WV DB Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charleston W.V.
Posts: 778
Default

You are picking up the WV SIRN tower Point Pleasant North
You are picking up Talk Groups. You need to program your Pro-197 with this: West Virginia Statewide Interoperability Radio Network (SIRN) . Depending on what tower is closest to you. Then look under Mason or Jackson County to get the TG's you need. If you need any help just ask.

Last edited by Bubba1661; 03-05-2014 at 4:57 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2014, 6:04 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Point Pleasant,WV
Posts: 18
Default

I have no idea on how to program the Pro197, that's why I'm using Search mode. The bus and 911 has the same number 460.0625. All I want to know is if I lock-out the bus, will it lock-out 911. I want to get rid of the busses.

Curtis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2014, 6:25 PM
Bubba1661's Avatar
WV DB Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charleston W.V.
Posts: 778
Default Pro-197

Quote:
Originally Posted by co_riff View Post
I have no idea on how to program the Pro197, that's why I'm using Search mode. The bus and 911 has the same number 460.0625. All I want to know is if I lock-out the bus, will it lock-out 911. I want to get rid of the busses.

Curtis
If you have 460.0625 locked on then yes it will lock out 911. Ok, Do you have the programming cable?, and access to a computer? If so what software if any do you use?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2014, 7:37 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Point Pleasant,WV
Posts: 18
Default

No cable. Windows 8.

Curtis
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-05-2014, 7:44 PM
Bubba1661's Avatar
WV DB Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Charleston W.V.
Posts: 778
Default Pro-197

Quote:
Originally Posted by co_riff View Post
No cable. Windows 8.

Curtis
You would need to buy your programming cable and some software first, I could steer you in the right direction and if you are a premium subscriber here on RR it would be a lot simpler.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-06-2014, 7:04 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Point Pleasant,WV
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks Bubba, but I'm not a computer person. I guess I'll leave it alone for now and listen to Ripley
bus. I was afraid if I would lock-out the bus, 911 would be, too

Curtis
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-07-2014, 11:05 AM
MOTOROLANUT's Avatar
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Harrco WV
Posts: 760
Default

The easiest way to program your Pro 197 is become a RR premium member, purchase a programming cable and WIN500 software. It turns programming into a few simple clicks of the mouse.

Or forget the membership, buy the radio shack programming cable and use the trial (free) version of WIN500. That requires typing in some data but still overall not hard. Don't sell yourself short, you can do it.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-08-2014, 4:31 PM
Member
  Audio Feed Provider
Audio Feed Provider
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 630
Default

It is possible to program the scanner without a computer and cable, especially if you are keeping the scanner at home and only need to hear what's coming from the nearest SIRN tower. You would be entering as few as two control channel frequencies. You could further simplify the process by entering a "wildcard" to hear everybody in the area using SIRN (state police, DNR, sheriff, EMS, etc) but exclude non-SIRN users such as school buses. There are some other steps to tell the scanner what type of system you are programming, etc, and which scan list you'll use to listen. If you know somebody who is fairly technical (maybe does some computer programming, for example), you could ask them if they could follow the steps in the manual.
__________________
Mike
RS PRO-18, RS PRO-197, RS PRO-2052
Fire & EMS feeds: http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/527 & http://www.broadcastify.com/listen/feed/3331
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions