RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog
 

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > U.S. Regional Radio Discussion Forums > Wisconsin Radio Discussion Forum

Wisconsin Radio Discussion Forum Forum for discussing Radio Information in the State of Wisconsin.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1001 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2014, 8:19 AM
sjgostovich's Avatar
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Hudson, WI
Posts: 214
Default

That'll be good because I can't hear them on thier VHF conv channel now from where i'm at in Trego but I get a solid signal from anything off the Lampson tower.
__________________
"Narrow banded, but not narrow minded!"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #1002 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 5:39 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land of Cheese
Posts: 30
Default

Will we be able to program our own radios as before or is this something that we will have to take to a designated radio shop?
Reply With Quote
  #1003 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 5:46 PM
kc0wkp's Avatar
Database Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffmedjoe View Post
Will we be able to program our own radios as before or is this something that we will have to take to a designated radio shop?
Are you referring to a scanner or a trunking radio?

You should be able to program a scanner without any issues. However if want to use a LMR radio you will need to be authorized to use the system. Once you have authorization you will need to get the required information to program the radio and have the knowledge to do so. In many cases taking the radio to your local radio shop is best, provided you are a authorized WISCOM user.
__________________
kc0wkp
"If it don't glow, don't buy it"
Reply With Quote
  #1004 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 5:57 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land of Cheese
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc0wkp View Post
Are you referring to a scanner or a trunking radio?

You should be able to program a scanner without any issues. However if want to use a LMR radio you will need to be authorized to use the system. Once you have authorization you will need to get the required information to program the radio and have the knowledge to do so. In many cases taking the radio to your local radio shop is best, provided you are a authorized WISCOM user.
We aren't WISCOM users yet, due to the fact that there is no service in our area. It was discussed at our meeting last night to get a couple of our portables programmed as mutual aid radios. Since I'm in charge of communications i have been in contact with gencom but we still don't know what we need to do to get on the system.
Reply With Quote
  #1005 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:01 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land of Cheese
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffmedjoe View Post
We aren't WISCOM users yet, due to the fact that there is no service in our area. It was discussed at our meeting last night to get a couple of our portables programmed as mutual aid radios. Since I'm in charge of communications i have been in contact with gencom but we still don't know what we need to do to get on the system.
The only thing i can find on WISCOM's website is the request for dispatching equipment and the system key agreement.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #1006 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:10 PM
kc0wkp's Avatar
Database Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffmedjoe View Post
We aren't WISCOM users yet, due to the fact that there is no service in our area. It was discussed at our meeting last night to get a couple of our portables programmed as mutual aid radios. Since I'm in charge of communications i have been in contact with gencom but we still don't know what we need to do to get on the system.
I am curious as to were you are located that has no service. At this point there aren't too many areas without service.

If you go to the WISCOM site there is a help desk email. If you send them a email requesting the WISCOM application they will send you one.
__________________
kc0wkp
"If it don't glow, don't buy it"
Reply With Quote
  #1007 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:11 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land of Cheese
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc0wkp View Post
I am curious as to were you are located that has no service. At this point there aren't too many areas without service.

If you go to the WISCOM site there is a help desk email. If you send them a email requesting the WISCOM application they will send you one.
Hillpoint, the closet site to us is Baraboo. We have spots in our area where we can't hit the existing repeaters, so i highly doubt we'd be able to hit Baraboo unless we use a mobile and park on a hill
Reply With Quote
  #1008 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:16 PM
kc0wkp's Avatar
Database Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 528
Default

You should have good mobile coverage from Ashridge, Reedsburg, and Baraboo towers. Portable coverage can be iffy in that area due to terrain.

Sent from my QMV7A using Tapatalk
__________________
kc0wkp
"If it don't glow, don't buy it"
Reply With Quote
  #1009 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:20 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land of Cheese
Posts: 30
Default

Ashridge is a long way from us. I wasn't aware that they had put a tower in reedsburg. In that case we should be able to hit it with our mobiles.
I think there is a tower on Loretto Ridge or Spring Green but i doubt that will get WISCOM installed
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
  #1010 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:57 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Eastern Dane Co
Posts: 244
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ffmedjoe View Post
The only thing i can find on WISCOM's website is the request for dispatching equipment and the system key agreement.
This is probably the page you found with the broken links at the bottom : Wisconsin Interoperability Initiative:**WISCOM
The WISCOM documents are at the bottom of this page: Wisconsin Interoperability Initiative Internet- Document Library
You're still better off contacting them directly but this will give you some information to read through.
__________________
BCD396XT, BC245XLT & Pro-164
Fleet of TK-8180, 880, 3173, & 3160
Reply With Quote
  #1011 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2014, 6:59 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Land of Cheese
Posts: 30
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SB-Wi View Post
This is probably the page you found with the broken links at the bottom : Wisconsin Interoperability Initiative:**WISCOM
The WISCOM documents are at the bottom of this page: Wisconsin Interoperability Initiative Internet- Document Library
You're still better off contacting them directly but this will give you some information to read through.
I just spoke with a radio tech and I am going to call him tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #1012 (permalink)  
Old 06-05-2014, 2:48 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 650
Question DNR switching to WISCOM, curious to know when :).

Hey there, just kinda curious, but anyone happen to know if/when the DNR will be doing the WISCOM switchover thingy? Was just looking over some stuff in my `436HP and got to wondering. If it`s not gonna be for a few years yet i can mabey dump all the DNR TG`s, but thought i`d ask first . Thanx! N9NRA

Last edited by N9NRA; 06-05-2014 at 2:51 PM.. Reason: Added a subject clairify what my post was about.
Reply With Quote
  #1013 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2014, 7:34 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 795
Default

I have heard DNR Brule on WISCOM before. They have them in their radios but are not currently using them.

If I had to take a stab? Next Fire Season.
Reply With Quote
  #1014 (permalink)  
Old 06-06-2014, 9:31 AM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 259
Default

DNR will use WISCOM as a supplement--not a replacement--to their existing conventional network.
Reply With Quote
  #1015 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2014, 7:09 AM
kc0wkp's Avatar
Database Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 528
Default

In northern pats of Wisconsin there is more use by the DNR on WISCOM. As mentioned by bc780l, you won't see much traffic by the fire crews and the State parks will continue to run on their local repeaters. However you will see Warden and Forestry traffic popping up on WISCOM.
__________________
kc0wkp
"If it don't glow, don't buy it"
Reply With Quote
Sponsored links
        
  #1016 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2014, 1:05 PM
Member
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 650
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by kc0wkp View Post
In northern pats of Wisconsin there is more use by the DNR on WISCOM. As mentioned by bc780l, you won't see much traffic by the fire crews and the State parks will continue to run on their local repeaters. However you will see Warden and Forestry traffic popping up on WISCOM.
Okay that makes sense, if what ya got works, don`t change it (much ). Guess i`ll put the conventional stuff in the scanner too . Thanx! N9NRA.
Reply With Quote
  #1017 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2014, 4:38 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: So Illinois
Posts: 95
Default

Just curious if there have been any changes to the Milton Site on WISCOM. After WISCOM went live I was able to hear the Milton Site from my Daughters house which is in the vicinity of I 90/39 and Illinois 173 which about 5 miles South of the Wisconsin line.

I checked the data base and I have the correct frequencies but I can't pickup the control channel. I can pickup the Kenosha and Darien sites which appear to be further away. I thought maybe they had modified the antenna's (more directional) on the Milton site or wondered if it was off line.

Just curious if anyone in the Beloit area is having trouble picking up the Milton site.
Reply With Quote
  #1018 (permalink)  
Old 06-17-2014, 10:38 PM
Member
   
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: So Illinois
Posts: 95
Default

I just picked up a control channel on frequency 139.26250, the display reads 0B0CH-1010, which follows the same format as the Kenosha and Darien Sites. The RR list other frequencies for the Milton CC and Alternate CC however this frequency is assigned to the Milton Site. I am just barely picking up the CC (1 Bar) on my 996XT, I guess it may just be atmospheric conditions.

Last edited by VASCAR2; 06-17-2014 at 11:02 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #1019 (permalink)  
Old 06-18-2014, 12:32 AM
kc0wkp's Avatar
Database Admin
  Shack Photos
Shack photos
RadioReference Database Admininstrator
Database Admin
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 528
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VASCAR2 View Post
0B0CH-1010

Milton is Site 10, so your are hearing Milton
__________________
kc0wkp
"If it don't glow, don't buy it"
Reply With Quote
  #1020 (permalink)  
Old 06-24-2014, 9:05 AM
Member
   
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southeastern WI
Posts: 47
Default

Looks like the interop.wi.gov page is starting to get updated again. They under all documents like, they have a updated WISCOM site map 6/19/14. It is showing that Cable (Iron County) and Clear Lake (Onedia) are on air, but don't see the freqs in the database.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
sticky

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 6:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
All information here is Copyright 2012 by RadioReference.com LLC and Lindsay C. Blanton III.Ad Management by RedTyger
Copyright 2011 by RadioReference.com LLC Privacy Policy  |  Terms and Conditions