Any Groups Local to the Oconomowoc Area?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to radio in general and hoping to meet some people who can answer some basic questions and give guidance on some of the goals I have for the hobby.

Are there any "user groups" in Oconomowoc or the Lake Country area in general?

Thanks

WIscannerguy24

Premium Subscriber
Hello my name is Joe and I live in Waukesha and I am been using a scanner and been interested in radio since 2002 so about 12 years. What questions do you have? I am willing to answer your questions you have regarding the hobby

I've been a software engineer for over 20 years and I've self-taught almost everything I know. My methodology is very straight-forward: get the most basic, yet useful, example of a given technology up and running and then build upon it.

I'd like to, and have tried in the past, implement this technique to the radio hobby (for lack of a better term). Past attempts have ended in debates over what is simple or useful and what the best way of going about this sort of thing are, but I'll try again.

I guess I'd say my basic goal is two-way comms in roughly a 200 mile radius, although I'd be willing to start with a more modest goal if necessary.

With that in mind, I want to get the most simple setup possible to accomplish that goal which, I presume, would include a radio, an antenna and any required licenses/certifications.

We can start there and move forward...hopefully.

Thanks in advance.

Steve

shadcall

Steve,