Whistle on specific frequency, but only certain equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.

grosporina

I've been listening to the local air traffic on my scanners for several years, but I just bought a new tri-band transceiver and am trying to use it's scan function for the same purpose and am getting a whistle that comes and goes on one specific frequency. I'm trying to figure out if it's something about the transceiver, or just something I had not picked up on my scanners due to limited fidelity of their audio.

There is one specific frequency, 132.800 MHz that on my transceiver when I am receiving there is often a persistent whistle, on long transmissions I can hear it sometimes slowly changing pitch and it seems stronger when I am receiving a tower transmission compared to when receiving a plane's transmission. It's not absolutely all the time I hear it, probably 75% of the time but on days I do hear it it is persistent. I would just chalk this up to some sort of interference but if I set one of my scanners and my transceiver side by side and listen to the same transmission the scanner will never pick up this whistle while the transceiver does.
Does anyone have similar experience of have a suggestion as to whether I should suspect some issue with the transceiver? I just got it a week ago so if this is something equipment-specific I'd like to deal with it while I can. Listening to aviation frequencies was not the main reason I bought it but it was a factor in my selection of make and model. I wouldn't be surprised if it was something there in the signal and the scanners are just filtering it out or it's outside their audio bandwidth but it seems weird.