Defining an aircraft as "Heavy"

Status
Not open for further replies.

NS9710

How does an aircraft get denoted as a "Heavy" aircraft?

Also when I hear them say "Climbing Three Zero Zero" is that 300,000 ft or how does this work? I'm fairly new to this, and find it interesting, I had some fleeting interests in the past but nothing major, now I'm finding this all interesting as of late, so am curious about all this, is there an online glossary for these terms I'd hear as the aircraft goes about calling details over the air? Thanks in advance.

Citywide173

Premium Subscriber
"Heavy" is any plane with a takeoff weight of 300,000 lbs or more. Three-Zero-Zero would be 30,000 feet, Three-Three-Five would be 33,500 feet.

30,000 ft and above

How does an aircraft get denoted as a "Heavy" aircraft?

Also when I hear them say "Climbing Three Zero Zero" is that 300,000 ft or how does this work? I'm fairly new to this, and find it interesting, I had some fleeting interests in the past but nothing major, now I'm finding this all interesting as of late, so am curious about all this, is there an online glossary for these terms I'd hear as the aircraft goes about calling details over the air? Thanks in advance.

"Heavy" means passengers or cargo on board exceeding 300,000 lbs.

"Three Zero Zero" is to 30,000 ft

I'm sure an expert will chime in...

alcahuete

Premium Subscriber
As far as heavy, it is NOT based on the passengers or cargo on board. It is based on the certified Maximum Take Off Weight (MTOW). It is a capable weight, not necessarily an active weight.

A 767-300ER, for example, has an empty weight of ~178,000 - ~200,000 pounds depending on the engine variants. It can make a flight at that weight (well...you'd need some fuel too, of course, and a couple pilots) and would still be classified as a Heavy, even though it is well below its MTOW.

To get the altitude from flight levels, as mentioned, you can just add 2 zeros to the end.

FL180 = 18,000
FL300 = 30,000