Anyone fimiliar with this plectron reciver?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigHeadSCCT

I Recived this reciver from my friends father that is the chief of fire in a nearby fire dpt.
The model is R519, Made in 1975. works like a charm. Here are some pictures.

Plectron001.jpg

Plectron002.jpg

Plectron004.jpg

Plectron005.jpg

KevinGC

Ahhh yes, this brings back memories. I believe this is the same model I had back in the days when I was a volunteer firefighter/EMT from 1976 to 1986. What do you want to know about it? It's set to alert on the receive frequency is 46.36. It is a dual tone receiver set to alert on the 2 dual tones listed in the pic.

DELCOLHFC

Mine still sounds great!

I still have one just like it running 24/7/365 in my garage. It doesn't have my company's tone set in it so I just leave it set to monitor the county's fire dispatch channel. The volume pot on mine died a while ago but it has excellent LOUD volume (full time now) perfect for my noisey garage.

radioman2001

New York North Carolina and all points in between
They were the Cadillac of their day. Our Dept had Instalerts, a not very close second. Dual conversion receiver, with LC tone circuits for decoding a non-standard tone sequence. Most tone encoders used 1 sec A tone 3 sec B tone. Plectron used 3 sec A 100ms B. Mainly to keep Motorola at bay, which Dutchess County still uses to this day, making for a limited number of Motorola products that decode their format. The unit is basically bulletproof, the biggest problems I can remember are the internal battery would leak,(an early pocket pager??) the volume controls would get flaky and their even was a recall on the power plug for some reason I can't remember. I still have a few, one on my Dept's tone and a 1/2 dozen or so another Dept gave me for parts.