2m/70cm dual band j-pole antenna project

Status
Not open for further replies.

wesm1957

Premium Subscriber
I am going to build a dual band j-pole antenna. I have two different plans that I found on the internet. Both call for 1/2" EMT conduit. I plan on using 3/4" copper pipe. Both plans call for 3/8" stainless threaded rod which I will be using. I am not sure if it will make any difference using 3/4 copper over the 1/2 conduit. I already have the copper on hand to use. I made two small Yagi antennas a few years ago to cover 800mhz when I lived in an apartment. I made them with brass tubing and brass rod and had good coverage for my scanners. I am hoping to have success with the j-pole. The J-pole will be mounted outside 15 to 20 feet in the air, using top rails for chain link fencing.

Wes

milkman21218

From what you said everything's going to be fine! I've been using top rail myself for several years. I find it to be cheaper than antenna mast. And stronger than some mast too! Just use the best coax that you can afford.

Last edited:

zz0468

QRT
Banned
...Both call for 1/2" EMT conduit. I plan on using 3/4" copper pipe. Both plans call for 3/8" stainless threaded rod which I will be using. I am not sure if it will make any difference using 3/4 copper over the 1/2 conduit...

Generally, when building something from published plans, it's best to stick with the original published plans. this is especially true of antennas. If you change the diameter and material of an antenna element, it WILL behave differently. How differently it behaves may or may not be significant. But don't be too surprised if it doesn't work.

LtDoc