Vertical Antenna question

Status
Not open for further replies.

theonerick

I'm quite new to Amateur Radio, so be kind if my questions are "dumb" please.

I have a TYT TH-9800 in my house, 50' of LMR-400 running to my roof, and then there's my antenna. I'm using 2m, talking mostly to repeaters.

I originally got an Ed Fong DBJ-1 antenna and it worked well enough, but after getting to know the local area, I wanted something with a little more reach.

I just purchased a Harvest Wireless X300 and mounted it where the DBJ-1 had been (vent pipe on my roof). I used to get SWR readings well under 2, but with this antenna I am getting up to just a bit over 3. The curious thing is, with this antenna my meter (Nissei RS-40) also reads higher power (e.g. it shows about 70 W on my radio's 50W setting).

On to my real question: When I use my multimeter on this new antenna, the vertical element (inside) has continuity with the radials and the outside of the SO-239. And nothing I can find has continuity with the center! This doesn't seem right to me. Is it?

I imagine my description will result in questions, but I would appreciate any help that anyone can provide.

Thanks,
Rick
W1RKR

ZigZag747

Rick,