I am a total newcomer to the world of Amateur radio and
have a question regarding the antenna for my portable
radio. I currently own a Baofeng UV82 HP and also have a
Radio Shack Pro 651 Scanner. A while back I purchased a
telescoping scanner/ham antenna for my scanner. I was
looking to get another antenna for my UV82 and the manager
showed me an SMA female to BNC female connector. My
question is can I use that to attach the telescoping
antenna to my UV82 without any problems?

I apologize if this seems to be a silly question, but, as
I indicated, I am very new to the world of amateur radio
and want to hear from an experienced operator if the
telescoping antenna would be a good thing to place on the UV82.

Thanks for your patience and assistance.

vagrant

ker-muhj-uhn
Premium Subscriber
Your question is not a silly one, but rather a wise one to ask. That telescoping antenna may not be tuned for the band you want to operate on, as they are meant to just capture whatever RF and slip it into your scanner receiver. Someone might chime in and say the five watts does not matter on the SWR issue, which would be wrong, but that advice is missing the entire point. You want an antenna that is resonant on the band(s) you want to use so that reception and transmission is not compromised. (Not that it is all that great to begin with on a handheld and the typical antennas that attach to them)

An improved antenna for your Baofeng would be a Diamond SRJ77CA. They cost around $23 from various sources. They are not short in length, by any means.
Diamond RH77CA SRH77CA Antenna