Can someone tell me what I have?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ManUtdWY

I am new to amateur radio, and apparently have a roof mount antenna on my old plow truck. The coax appears to be in good shape and fairly stout, but the connection appears to be damaged. I was hoping to replace the connection and put it to use but I have no idea what this is and where to look for a replacement and what I will need to connect a mobile radio. I would just Google it myself and save your time, but I don't know what to search for. Can anyone out there point me in the right direction?

Attachments

• IMG_0538.jpg
    IMG_0538.jpg
    58.7 KB · Views: 317

KevinC

Junior Radio Guru
Super Moderator
I have a feeling this isn't actually related to amateur radio, so it may get moved once we have more information.

ManUtdWY

Thanks, you may very well be right. I assumed so with the coax coming into it, but that's why I thought I would check here first.

jwt873

Premium Subscriber
Is that thing actually fastened to the dash?

What radio do you have? It might be better (and neater) just to trash that bracket and run the coax directly from the radio to the existing roof mount antenna.

brcommo

The photograph is actually either a hand throttle cable, a choke cable , or a control cable for some other mechanical unit. It isn't a coax connector.

ManUtdWY

Is that thing actually fastened to the dash?

What radio do you have? It might be better (and neater) just to trash that bracket and run the coax directly from the radio to the existing roof mount antenna.

I wondered about trashing the bracket, but splicing a new adapter into the coax frightened me a little. Besides, that metal protective housing and mount was stout and I was hoping to keep it in place as a protection.