What is this element on dipole

Status
Not open for further replies.

henri_007

Hello everybody! I'm new in HAM and I'm in process of learning. I have one question. I found this schema of HF dipol antenna and I want to figure out what is purpose of component at number 2. I don't know germany and google translate doesn't help me. What does this thing do?

Link of picture:
https://prnt.sc/iqzwik

henri_007

This is what makes me confused. On schema is inductor and resistor?
And traps consists of capacitor and inductor?

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
Their purpose is to widen the resonant frequency range of the antenna. Lower frequencies will pass through the inductor, and higher frequencies will pass through the capacitor.

jwt873

Premium Subscriber
This is what makes me confused. On schema is inductor and resistor?
And traps consists of capacitor and inductor?

The schematic is confusing because they don't use the standard symbol for the capacitor and they have no component values indicated.

Antenna traps are tuned circuits and as such use coils and capacitors, so the devices in parallel with the coils in the schematic are capacitors.

jonwienke

More Info Coming Soon!
A rectangular box isn't a standard symbol for any discrete electronic component. It's often used for ICs, but in that case, the rectangle is labeled with the chip ID, and the pin number for each connection to the IC is generally marked.

Omitting component values is also bad form.

prcguy

Well, sort of. A trap is a parallel resonant circuit that will effectively end an antenna at a particular frequency to make it resonant there, where the antenna would otherwise be too long to naturally resonate at that frequency. The part of the antenna that extends beyond the trap can be tuned and used for lower frequencies than what the trap is tuned for. More traps can be used to break up the antenna to resonate at other discreet frequencies.