Decisions, decisons .....

Status
Not open for further replies.

davecason

Hi Gang,

I want to start to play around with my Yeasu 8900 in the truck and see if I can get e-mail going on my Asus P1005 Mini PC and get them to play nice.

It seems like the two popular guys are Byonics or Argent Data, they seem to be the two choices. So if I want to get one from one of the two places to use as a KISS TNC initially and play with APRS later what should I buy?

I'm brand new to packet as well ...... except for a bit of blue water sailing and a pactor modem a while ago.

Cheers'
Dave

n2nov

Email? What infrastructure/mechanism would you use to transfer from the email client on your laptop and go all the way to the recipient?

davecason

got some bits

Hi Charles,

I dunno yet, I want to first get the APRS going and try that and then use the new TinyTrac4 I got as a dumb TNC and setup my PC with Winlink and try that as the second option.

I'm just going to get the TNC going and play / experiment / goof off with it and see what I can try to get away with, its experiment time so I thought I'd ask.

I'm bashing around the idea of setting up a node on my HF rig at home to run as a Winlink node but its too early to play with that plan. I'll prob have to jump to a better HF rig at home besides we need one here in Calgary. :)

Cheers'
Dave

n2nov

APRS is mainly a one-way broadcast with minimal SMS-like capability. It is not intended, nor would I use it, for regular e-mail/packet messaging. Do you have a local packet BBS in your area? Winlink and it's off-shoots are RF on the front-end, but internet on the back-end. Without an internet connection, your throughput suffers or dies altogether. Solely relying on a non-ham infrastructure like Winlink is not good EmComm planning.