Kenwood: Interface Connection Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

cgestl

Premium Subscriber
Newbie here. Considering using my Kenwood TS140-s to decode digital modes using Ham Radio Deluxe and SignaLink interface. I see the SignaLink requires a USB connection. The rig has the RS232 interface for control requiring a USB interface cable to the PC. So I will have 2 USB connections to the PC to make this work? Can HRD capture data from the SignaLink and control the rig each from different ports?

K7MEM

The Signalink USB requires a USB connection, because it is effectively a external sound blaster interface. This interface handles the audio in/out from your rig. I believe on your TS-140S you would need to access the rear ACC2 connector. That connector has all of the audio and PTT signals necessary. It is also possible to go through the microphone connector, but that is not as efficient and for another discussion.

For rig control you will need to go in through your rigs RS-232 connector. I believe that is the IF-10c option for the TS-140S. If your computer does not have a RS-232 interface, you will need a USB to Serial Port Interface cable. Be a little careful when purchasing this cable. It should specify a "Prolific" chip. Cheaper interface cables will drop the connection and cause problems. One of the cables that I use is USB to RS232 Converter Cable 1.0 meter - UMC-201. I have others, but that is the one I am using with my IC-735.

I use a home brew interface with my HP G62 laptop (Windows 7) and I use HRD. My rig control interface (RS-232 to CIV) is also home brew. So on my laptop, I use two USB connections plus the audio input and audio output. I use the internal sound card, but you will need to configure HRD to use the Signalink sound card. It should be pretty obvious when you are initially configuring HRD.