Simple Data Transmission Project

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave75002

I am very new to HAM and have an idea but not sure if it's easily possible and wanted to get thoughts on what protocol, hardware and software may be best to use.. I am actually so new I am about to take my first exam and can’t even transmit yet on ham but will be able to soon. Already starting to think of a lot of projects but this is the first I want to try.

I am looking to first build a data logger with a Raspberry Pi/mini PC or something similar that line that can collect simple data from a couple different sources (USB or RS-232) and software that can turn it into very simple data.
1. Two channels of Temperature (indoor/outdoor)
2. Battery Voltage of the house batteries in the motorhome
3. Maybe a couple of simple open closed (on/off) sensors, like door or water or even smoke sensors.

For this first part of the project I realize I may be on the completely wrong forum and might need to look at a different sites for the programming/software information on building the data logger and connecting sensors.