RadioReference on Facebook   RadioReference on Twitter   RadioReference Blog

Go Back   The RadioReference.com Forums > Amateur Radio > Amateur Radio Data Transmissions

Amateur Radio Data Transmissions - For discussion of all modes used to send data such as APRS and packet.

LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2017, 7:08 PM

Default Help getting started with HF digital modes

Hi I'm just getting into digital modes considering it's really my only option besides CW. I have very bad RFI from power lines and cannot operate in 40 or 80 meters which as of current propagation condigtions is the only bands which you cannot easily operate voice and CW I don't really want to learn not that I haven't tried (I'm horrible). So that basically leaves digital modes. And since there are band opening all times of the day on 30m it's perfect. So my question is what digtal modes are popular and easy to do with just a sound card ans that I'm sure to make contacts on. I also wanted to know good software for these digtal modes. And if it matters I have a IC-7300.

THANKS!!!! KM6FRE
Sponsored links
Old 08-07-2017, 8:33 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

Dig into the JT modes. JT-9 JT-65 et all. Not good for holding a conversation, but if you wan't to fill a log up, it'll do the job well. (I recommend WSJT-X)

Also PSK is very active. There's a ton of software out for this mode.. There's tons of modes out there, and most software does more than one or two mode. Dig in, and have fun.
Old 08-07-2017, 9:21 PM

So basically JT's and PSK31 are both popular and easy to get started on. What about RTTY?
Old 08-07-2017, 9:28 PM
  Premium Subscriber
Premium Subscriber
Amateur Radio Operator
Amateur Radio

RTTY is out there, and is popular with many. There's also Olivia, MFSK, Hellschreiber, and plenty more..Check out Digital Modes for more..