Help getting started with HF digital modes

Status
Not open for further replies.

gregory21greg

Hi I'm just getting into digital modes considering it's really my only option besides CW. I have very bad RFI from power lines and cannot operate in 40 or 80 meters which as of current propagation condigtions is the only bands which you cannot easily operate voice and CW I don't really want to learn not that I haven't tried (I'm horrible). So that basically leaves digital modes. And since there are band opening all times of the day on 30m it's perfect. So my question is what digtal modes are popular and easy to do with just a sound card ans that I'm sure to make contacts on. I also wanted to know good software for these digtal modes. And if it matters I have a IC-7300.

THANKS!!!! KM6FRE

n9mxq

Premium Subscriber
Dig into the JT modes. JT-9 JT-65 et all. Not good for holding a conversation, but if you wan't to fill a log up, it'll do the job well. (I recommend WSJT-X)

Also PSK is very active. There's a ton of software out for this mode.. There's tons of modes out there, and most software does more than one or two mode. Dig in, and have fun.

n9mxq

Premium Subscriber
RTTY is out there, and is popular with many. There's also Olivia, MFSK, Hellschreiber, and plenty more..Check out Digital Modes for more..

The PSK and JT modes are almost always busy. And JT is better at digging signals out of the mud, which could be critical in your situation.

AK9R

Lead Wiki Manager and almost an Awesome Moderator
Super Moderator
You might check YouTube and search for videos talking about using the IC-7300 on data modes. The IC-7300 has a built-in sound card interface with a USB sound card, so all you need is a USB B to USB A cable to go between the radio and your computer. Make sure to download and install the drivers before you connect the cable.