Digital modes

Status
Not open for further replies.
This might be the wrong section for this, if so please move to correct sub forum.

I am pretty new to ham and really enjoying myself so far and would like to give some of the digital modes a try

Just wondering what the basic equipment needed is to be able to play with digital and maybe also monitor the hf bands, from a signal strength perspective is?

My set up consists of an Alinco dxSr8 transceiver and an ocfd for 80-10m up about 45’ set up and as inverted v.

I have a very basic laptop that does not have a dedicated sound card so I was looking at the SignaLink usb slusb8r.

Would this unit alone be enough to link my radio and my laptop using one of the many programs out there or would I also need to purchase the pc interface cable for my radio as well?

Thanks in advance
ke0ncp 73

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

n0nhp

That setup should work.
You will need to buy or build the cable from the SignaLink to the mic input of the Alinco.
The main reason I don't use my Alinco for digital modes is that it has no ALC indicator on it.. With digital modes you do not want the transmitter to even bump the ALC or you start splattering all over the spectrum.

The only reason to buy the PC interface would be to have the digital program auto-set the frequency and or your logging program to monitor your frequency for logging purposes.
Those things can be set up manually very easily.

Run your TX at minimum power to make the contact and put a fan on it. Digital modes are very hard on transmitters. It is easy to be putting only 5W into the antenna from a 100W transmitter and have it shut down (or melt down) due to the duty cycle.

Look me up if you get the JT modes working, that is where I usually hang out.

Bruce

Bruce,

Thank you for the info and advice! Will just go for the signalink then and skip the interface cable for now.

As for software, any suggestions? If so maybe shoot over a msg?

Thanks again,
Matt

KS0USA