8-Pin to TRRS

Status
Not open for further replies.

robdoar

Hey All, I'm working on a project for a dedicated APRS repeater, and I hoping to use an old Mic-less Azden 7000h I have sitting around doing nothing.

I would like to use it with a Mobilinkd TNC2, which means I need to turn the 8-pin into a TRRS connection.

I am a novice at making adapters, and was hoping that someone could help me figure out how I need to connect these pinouts.

AZDEN PCM-463 MICROPHONE.
8pindiagram.jpg

PIN 1 MIC.
PIN 2 MIC GROUND.
PIN 3 -
PIN 4 DOWN.
PIN 5 UP.
PIN 6 COMMON GROUND (up/down etc).
PIN 7 PTT.
PIN 8 + 13.8 VOLTS.

Mobilinkd TNC2
TRRS – 3.5mm TRRS audio connector for Radio.
1. Tip = Speaker (audio input to TNC)
2. Ring 1 = PTT
3. Ring 2 = Mic
4. Sleeve = GND/Common

I see where PTT, MIC, and Ground would line up, but I'm unclear on how the "Speaker" input source from the 8 pin would be.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

n5ims

First off, you'll need more than just the 8 pin connection for the TNC connection to work since it doesn't provide speaker audio. That will be available on the external speaker connection jack, but will at least force your connection to be more of a Y connection (TNC to both mic jack and ext speaker jack on the Azden).

From the TRRS:
1. Tip to the tip on the external speaker connection.
2. Ring 1 to pin 7 on the Mic connection
3. Ring 2 to pin 1 on the Mic connection
4. Sleeve to Pin 2 on the Mic connection (perhaps also to the sleeve on the external speaker connection, I say perhaps since both mic ground and speaker ground should be the same ground level in the radio).