2 meter antenna

Status
Not open for further replies.

motorman105

Premium Subscriber
Has anyone used a "through the glass" antenna for their 2 meter mobile? Do they have acceptable performance? I'm sure a magnetic mount would be better but if I could get good results with the "through the glass" antenna I'd prefer it.
Remember...I've had my ticket a week so go easy on me.
Thanks

itsmevoss

Premium Subscriber
I have tried a couple different ones and have not had the best of luck with them. You also need to remember that if you have any tint on your windows they will not work.

Aaron

fineshot1

Has anyone used a "through the glass" antenna for their 2 meter mobile? Do they have acceptable performance? I'm sure a magnetic mount would be better but if I could get good results with the "through the glass" antenna I'd prefer it.
Thanks

Although I have one on one of my vehicles(was no other choice) I really would not even bother with them.
I have over 30 years experience with vhf/uhf mobile and base station antennas and think they leave much to be desired. For transmit they do not seem to radiate well although they seem to do fine for receive. If I were you I would go with a good 5/8 wave gain antenna, or if you are in an area with a lot of hams close by and can get away with using a 1/4 wave (both mounted to the car body for good ground effect) I would go with one of them.

WouffHong

Tint

I have tried a couple different ones and have not had the best of luck with them. You also need to remember that if you have any tint on your windows they will not work.

Aaron

Agree with their mediocre performance in general, but OEM tints have little effect EXCEPT "passivated" or Deposited-metal tints. Some aftermarket tints will actually show conductivity with an ohm-meter on mid-scale settings. ;-)