Wanting a mobile setup for vehicle

Status
Not open for further replies.
I'm new to some of the amateur radio side of things. I'm trying to find what's best for my setup. I want to add a dual band VHF/UHF setup to my Jeep Grand Cherokee. I currently have CB like the picture below. I want to similarly match the antenna placement and length, if it makes sense to do so. Not that worried about the appearance of the antenna.

I have seen the Icom IC-2730A for sale in the classifieds and think that's more or less what I am looking for. I want a detachable face for placing where I want in my vehicle. I like to keep things as clean as possible in there. Other opinions on radios is greatly appreciated.

What do I want it for? I want to be able to communicate at the small level with people I know or meet on trails or otherwise. I also want to be able to contact anyone in case of an emergency. (Thanks for having the freqs listed on here) I understand that I need to get licensed as well. I'm not worried about that part of it. I'll probably have the testing done in a couple of weeks.

Care to help me out?
6a0270c4e969b7aa6285e724a62ec485.jpg

popnokick

Premium Subscriber
Icom mobiles work fine and the detachable remote head makes mounting in the Jeep MUCH simpler. HOWEVER.... get your antenna mount up high on the body of the vehicle so that part of your antenna is not obstructed by the metal of the car body. All sorts of undesirable things happen when you mount an antenna next to a huge chunk of metal. Fortunately, a dual-band antenna for VHF / UHF is much shorter than the CB antenna you have now. One option would be to move the antenna mount up to the upper lip of the rear hatch and use a 1/4 wave whip for VHF/UHF. Or mount to the front hood lip. Or use a glass mount. I'd say you could put a permanent mount in the center of the roof, but looks like you have a rack on the roof already, and may have a sunroof... so roof mounting not such a good idea.

jwt873

Premium Subscriber