Emergency Radio Kit (Pelican Case)

Status
Not open for further replies.

kiloniner94

I work for a police department, and have just recently been put in charge over our communications. I am wanting a Pelican case radio kit for emergency communications. I have never built one of these before and any pointers would be greatly appreciated. Also if anyone on here builds them to sale let me know. I may be better off buying instead of building due to lack of spare time. Something that I have in mind is a power supply and back up battery on board along with a dual band mobile radio.

I appreciate all the help that I can get!

-K9-94

Last edited:

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber
What kind of radio system are we working with?

zuren

I work for a police department, and have just recently been put in charge over our communications. I am wanting a Pelican case radio kit for emergency communications. I have never built one of these before and any pointers would be greatly appreciated. Also if anyone on here builds them to sale let me know. I may be better off buying instead of building due to lack of spare time. Something that I have in mind is a power supply and back up battery on board along with a dual band mobile radio.

I appreciate all the help that I can get!

-K9-94

I built something similar to this since I wanted a home setup that didn't take up a ton of space and I could put away easily:

PORTABLE GO-KIT RADIO STATION

KK4JUG

Premium Subscriber
Those two bands require an amateur license. Is that covered?

lmrtek

QuickSilver radio.com has complete radio go boxes just supply the radio and bnc antenna for your frequency

mmckenna

I ♥ Ø
I had our OES guys bring me a radio and a spare Pelican case they wanted to use.
I supplied the power supply, antenna, speaker, etc.

I cut a piece of 3/4" plywood, sanded, painted black (matched the case, and mounted it to the bottom of the case. Through bolted with stainless steel hardware.