QRP transceiver for PSK 31?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZ645

Premium Subscriber
I'm new to Amateur Radio having received my General earlier this year, I'm intrigued by PSK31 and would like to get into it more using QRP equipment. I've seen QRP kits on the internet, however seems like most of it is for CW. Can anyone recommend a good kit or QRP transceiver for portable use?

wyShack

Premium Subscriber
QRP is a bit of the hard way if just starting out. I remember using a Ten-Tac Agronaut (model 509) as my first HF rig. You could google SSB QRP radio and get several current models. The one I am looking at is the Yaesu FT-817.

QRP can be considerably more challenging than 'normal' HF operating. The biggest thing in making your station effective is the antenna. Most of us don't have the room (or resources) to put up full size dipoles or beams so the antenna side of a lot of stations suffers.

QRP is also much more dependent on propagation -which has been poor for quite some time. Operating QRP on the bands below about 10 Mhz (30 meters) means you will be 'down in the noise' more than regular stations and that can add to the frustration for a new operator. That said, when operating the digital modes like PSK, I seldom use more than 20 watts.

Good luck and 73.

Hi AZ.....:)
I think practically anything you use on PSK31 is going to be QRP. You are going to want to dial back the power for several reason- primarily because you don't need it, you want a perfectly linear signal- no distortions, - the transmit duty cycle can over heat your transmitter in QRO.... and if the band is dead its dead.
I am hardly the one to talk about ham radio digital. I just rediscover'd** it over the July 4th holiday. My father is an inveterate long wave fan, and after I sent him the remains of my foray on 2200 metre (my JUMA TX136) he called me saying I should give 136Khz another shot...
"Try one of the digital modes, Lauri"