where to start?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ObiHann

so many different radios and radio bands and frequencies.... 10 meter, 2 meter, etc etc, etc. UHF, VHF, HF, oh my! I just finished learning about trunked scanners, digital, analog, etc, and all about marine and cb, and now I start seeing ham/amature radios. So I think I realized that the 10 meter band is actually just cb radios, so what are the rest of it? I know you need a license, and there is a basic license, than a few more advanced ones, with morse code and stuff. What are the different bands and stuff? Where can I start reading? I'm sure if I started studying for the exam I would learn this all but I don't know if I even want to do that :S

N

N_Jay

Last edited:

KC8TCQ

so many different radios and radio bands and frequencies.... 10 meter, 2 meter, etc etc, etc. UHF, VHF, HF, oh my! I just finished learning about trunked scanners, digital, analog, etc, and all about marine and cb, and now I start seeing ham/amature radios. So I think I realized that the 10 meter band is actually just cb radios, so what are the rest of it? I know you need a license, and there is a basic license, than a few more advanced ones, with morse code and stuff. What are the different bands and stuff? Where can I start reading? I'm sure if I started studying for the exam I would learn this all but I don't know if I even want to do that :S

Actually, the 10m band is different from CB. The CB band is 11m.

As far as licensing, morse code is no longer required, there are three classes or levels of license in Amateur Radio.

The first is the Technicians class, this gives you voice priviledges on 6m, 2m, 70cm (440) etc. as well as voice on 10m from 28.300 to 28.500 USB. it is just a 35 question (multiple choice) exam to get your Technicians Class license.