Multi Band Hand helds?

Status
Not open for further replies.

crazycanuk

Hello, Im a complete newbie here. I am in the market for a Icom IC-A24 as I am a pilot. I then started to wonder if there were hand helds that would also do CB and HAM Freq RX\TX. Are there radio's like this or is this a dream radio:)

Thanks in advance

fineshot1

Hello, Im a complete newbie here. I am in the market for a Icom IC-A24 as I am a pilot. I then started to wonder if there were hand helds that would also do CB and HAM Freq RX\TX. Are there radio's like this or is this a dream radio:)

Thanks in advance

When you say ham radio - you do not specify a band(there are many ham bands),
ie: 10 meters, 6 meters, 2 meters, 220mhz band, 70cm band, 33cm band, 23cm band

CB is 26/27Mhz band just below the commercial vhf low band(30-50Mhz).

What you seem to be dreaming about is not yet practical by today's technology
for an all in one HT and would also be tough for a radio salesman to sell as there
is no market for it.

EDIT: Forgot to mention - there are multi-band ham ht's but they are just ham
and do not mix in commercial bands.

Last edited:

CLynch7

Thanks in advance

The Vertex Standard Pilot series are great air handhelds (I've got a VXA-210 I carry as a backup in my flightbag). Yaesu makes great radios, multi-banders too. I've got my eye on
a VX-5R, 50/144/430MHz Bands. As for handheld CB radios, most a poor performers. They may receive well, but TX has very little range.

crazycanuk

So for the plane I'll have to get just a regular aircraft HT in the 118 ~ 136.975 mhz.

for a second radio would a Yaesu VX-3R be considered a good entry lever HT?

VX-6R and VX-7R would be preferred though?

One other Question, any transceiver that does 420-470MHz can be programed to work FRS band?

tekshogun