not fitting in with the locals

Status
Not open for further replies.

ModelTrainGeek

Premium Subscriber
I'm a fairly newly licensed ham (Canadian "BASIC +") . I studied for my license on my own, why no help from an elmer. I had gone to a local club's meeting a couple weeks before taking my test, and I was pointed at somebody that "could help me", I talked to him briefly, but that was it, no contact info, etc.

I bought myself a used 2 meter radio on ebay, and works good and all. I've tried different time on the various local repeaters for radio checks and just the general "[call-sign, monitoring" type announcements and have never gotten a response. I have done check ins on "nets" events, and got the change to do the basic 'this is how my day is going' talk. So I know I can be heard ok.
I was listening in on another conversation the other night, and the two guys were having trouble hearing each other so they move to a repeater, so I followed to listen, when one took a break, i poked my nose in a call the one that was waiting to say I had been able to here.. Talked a about twice, and on the second, he just went right back to the other guy. and neither ever acknowledged me again, nor my comments on the reception.

So it left me feeling like I just don't belong in this hobby if that the way I'm going to be treated. I passed my test, on my own, so I've proven I have at least the right to be on the air. But I haven't had any real conversations, other then briefs nets-type check-in. Is this typical for new ham to experience? Or should I just accept this is a "just us" type area and go back to online games and model trains?

I'm in a apartment where HF antenna probably won't work except 10 meter band, so just DXing is not a big option.

Is there much DX on 10 meters??? If thats a viable option, I may consider just getting a 10 meter radio and stay down there..

I know this sounds like a bit of a rant, but I"m very discouraged with the hobby right now...

newsphotog