Newb needing a little help with finding the right radio.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ref-Jazzy

HI, as I have mentioned before I am new to Ham radio. But not new to radio equipment. But on to my question.

I am an avid Kayaker, and kayak all over indiana and have done a river trip in KY. I am looking for a handheld radio that is fairly water proof that I can carry on my kayak. Figure it may come in handy if there was an emergancy. What would you suggest. I plan on obtaining my Tech lic soon. Also i would prefer not to break the bank on the radio.

Thanks in advance,
Jazzy

mparker

which ever would be best and cheapest?

sounds like you are VERY open...

i started into ham radio with an HT... personally i think it was a mistake... i wouldnt say i regret it because now i have a VERY capable HT in my radio arsenal... but as a starter radio it was a bad choice...

i think you will be very displeased with the performance of an HT...

i am currently setting some cash aside for an icom 2208H, power supply, and arrow jpole. the nice thing about it i will be well under $300 for everything... i spent more than that on my HT...

another nice thing about the 2208 is, after i "outgrow" it and move to a HF rig i can buy the dstar card for it and have a dedicated dstar radio.

if you still must get a HT, i would look at the older VX5s, although i think yeasu just released a new dual band HT i am unsure of the price but i would think it would be less than a VX8.

good luck whatever you decide...

RadioDaze

eorange's suggestion of an FT-270R is probably spot-on, given your budget constraints. Also, look at their VX-6R for tri-band operation while still getting 5 watts. A bit more money, but maybe a nice compromise.

I'd use a ziploc bag, even with a submersible radio.

You might also consider carrying a GMRS radio so that there might be more ears listening, in the event of an emergency.