Ham Radio CB frequency question

Status
Not open for further replies.

BROSIF

First off I am a complete noob in the world of radios. With that being said I am in the process of getting my ham license and just purchased a Baofeng UV-5R that will be here soon. My question is can I access CB frequencies from this radio? My friends and I go out to the desert and off road quite a bit and we use CB radios to communicate with each other. This radio would come in handy even more if I could communicate with them on those frequencies.

gewecke

Completely Banned for the Greater Good
Banned
Congrats on making the step up to amateur radio, if you want to talk on cb, then it's a cb you need. The same goes for ham radio.
Your baofeng won't let you because cb is a band it won't tune to.

n9zas

N1XDS

ÆS Ø
First off I am a complete noob in the world of radios. With that being said I am in the process of getting my ham license and just purchased a Baofeng UV-5R that will be here soon. My question is can I access CB frequencies from this radio? My friends and I go out to the desert and off road quite a bit and we use CB radios to communicate with each other. This radio would come in handy even more if I could communicate with them on those frequencies.

Sorry to say you will need a CB radio to accesss the CB radio channels the Boafeng UV-5R will only pick up and operate on the programmed channels it came with.

John599nj

Premium Subscriber
10 meters on the Ham bands would be very close to cb.
It took me 5 minutes to figure out what noob was lol

gewecke

Banned
10 meters on the Ham bands would be very close to cb.
It took me 5 minutes to figure out what noob was lol

Close yes, but 10meters and cb are two entirely different bands, the only thing they share is propagation.
There are ham talkies however which will go down low enough to receive cb, but some on fm only.

n9zas

gewecke

Banned