Can Unlicensed Persons Operate my Equipment under my Supervision?

Status
Not open for further replies.

eriepascannist

Premium Subscriber
I'm a licensed ham with a friend who is interested in joining the hobby. I want to let him try out my equipment and get a feel for the hobby before he invests any time or money in it, to see if he is truly interested.

If I understand the rules correctly, he can operate my equipment if I am present, correct? And if he is allowed to use my radio under my supervision, do I have to "sign him on/off" the air? How does he identify himself: simply with my callsign, or do I say "KD2DAX, I have a unlicensed person that will now operate under my supervision..."

I'm sure this sounds very juvenile, but I've been wondering for a while and I'm still new to all this.

Thanks in advance.

phillydjdan

As the rules state, yes, he/she can operate under your direct supervision. As for ID procedures, I've never actually heard it done, so I am curious to know if there is an official procedure or not myself.

eriepascannist

Premium Subscriber
As the rules state, yes, he/she can operate under your direct supervision. As for ID procedures, I've never actually heard it done, so I am curious to know if there is an official procedure or not myself.

Thanks. That is what I was thinking, but I just wanted to double-check to put my mind at ease. The identification is what I am really curious about as well...

N1XDS

ÆS Ø
I'm a licensed ham with a friend who is interested in joining the hobby. I want to let him try out my equipment and get a feel for the hobby before he invests any time or money in it, to see if he is truly interested.