Do you keep a station log? A radio log?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bswp

I'm new to radios, and waiting for my call sign after passing my technician exam last week. I wonder how many of you keep logs for your stations - do you record *everything* you do, or just contacts you've made... and do you keep separate logs for each radio, or just merge all your notes into one logbook?

I have a Yaesu FT-60r, planning to be involved in local disaster response efforts, but also looking forward to general listening and making contacts.

jand1958

I do.
I keep one log and merge all radios into it. I just log actual QSO's. If somebody asks for a radio check, I probably won't log it. Even though it's not required any longer by the FCC, it's fun to go back and look at the contacts you have made.
I even kept a log back in the 70's for CB. Still have a few of those logs laying around after all this time.

W3DMV

i Keep a log using a database on my station computer. It makes it very easy
to sort and organize your contacts. If your involved with various awards such
as DXCC or WAS, or a million others, it is a huge aid in getting your QSO'S
sorted and organized..

I keep all basic info such as date/time/qth/mode/report and name. I do
not record rigs or shoe size..

Have close to 290,000 entries in my list which spans back to 1960. Lots of
fun looking back over the years to see some of the stations worked.

k3td

I keep a log of my contacts on 160 - 2 meters for ssb/cw and the digital modes from home, but not for FM as I make too many of them and they are casual contacts - and are also primarily when operating mobile or portable.

I use the DXLab suite of integrated logging, propagation and spotting applications and have it interfaced to my IC-7700 radio so logging is just a couple of mouse clicks. The DXLab programs are freeware that are easy to install and use, and very well supported.
DXLab

Good luck and 73,

TheSpaceMan